We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$125
US$112
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$132
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$150
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majeka House(Stellenbosch)
US$181
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
43
48
34
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
48
34
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorp streetboy racersduplex styleplatinum elite membertwo storeyfor making our stay so specialquaint hotelbobotiesleeper couchclose to townstaff was very friendly and helpfuldeluxe roomswedding weekendlounge areabed was very comfortablethe main hoteleasy access
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stopped in here for lunch, during an Atlantic Rail Tour. Great place, friendly staff, great service, especially from a lady called Petronella (hope I have spelt her name right) in the restaurant. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear malc1005
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent visit to our restaurant at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed your visit.
We look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This is my second stay in this hotel. The first was in room 3 next to the kitchen. From very early in the morning I was disturbed by the noises and the smell coming from there. While the breakfast itself was the normal high quality of Protea hotels, it didn't make up for the room experience.

This time around I was booked into a deluxe loft room and boy was it amazing. As big as a small house with an amazing bathroom, it gave me a total different experience of the hotel as a whole.

Room Tip: Do not take a room inside that is close to the dining hall or kitchen.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Ronald K
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in the delux loft apartment. We can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel whenever your travels brings you back to Stellenbosch.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Clean and hospitable. Upstairs loft spacious but a little uneasy for a tall person. Air conditioning quiet and cool. Breakfast good and plentiful. Enjoyed my one night here.

10 minute walk to town center and restaurants. 5 minutes to nice selection of restaurants on Dorp Street.

Feels old but quaint. Good place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Tim W
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcome you back to experience our 84 m2 deluxe loft apartments.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

There is certain colonial charm in this hotel which excuses few things otherwise would not be acceptable for example old ordinary thin doors when opening to lobby did not keep away any conversation hold outside the room nor did the windows keep from the street noise. And it's located next to rather important and vivid streets.

The location is good but about 10 min off from the city center. The streets are really safe to walk even at nights so that was no problem.

Service as such was good, the rooms really large with very high ceilings.

Breakfast choice was a bit limited and got boring during a weeks stay.

The wasn't heated as promised, but chilly refreshment on a hot day.

Room Tip: try to get a garden room.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear MSander
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa.
We offer a breakfast buffet in the morning , and I will definitely look at the daily options to make it much more interested for our GUEST.
The pool - we advertised a heated pool in winter but the Jacuzzi should be heated daily.
Look forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa whenever travels brings you back to Stellenbosch.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group of 16 golfers visiting from the UK.
Hotel ideally situated for golf and wine trips and also a short walk into Stellenbosch, which was lovely.
My room was very spacious (room 2), clean and bed very comfortable. Staff and service were good too and breakfast was fine.
Would stay again if I'm lucky enough to return to SA.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear lain B
Thank you for your kind and much appreciated review of your experience during your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa.
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and that you could experienced our facilities.
Look forward welcoming you back from the United Kingdom to our beautiful Country, Town and historical hotel in the famous Dorp str.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews