We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday for son”
Review of Terroir

Terroir
Ranked #17 of 301 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Best courses from starter to desserts. Nobody could fault any dishes. Superb. Loved ebery moment. Extensive wine list. Great waiters.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, service and location would definitely recommend this restaurant to couples and families. Staff were very friendly and efficient

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank susanallpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

From the moment we arrived (albeit 10 minutes late!) to the time that we left our evening was amazing.

The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. I’d thoroughly recommend the prawn risotto, just the right size as a starter. The beef main course was perfectly cooked. We even managed dessert, although we shared.

One more mention goes to our waiter, Gerald. He was just so courteous and professional. A great guy to have on board.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank VirgoGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Terroir is what I would call a solid choice offering a very good but not outstanding dining experience.

Service is excellent and the wine list, is of course, interesting. They offered one standout dish of the Shrimp/Prawn risotto, we all really enjoyed this.

The main of Springbok whilst good was surpassed by other places we tried it.

The terrace is very nice with a view of the gardens but they could make more of the view. There was a glorious sunset, with that 10 minutes when the Stellenbosch mountain turn bright red, yet we couldn’t see that from the terrace. Opportunity lost perhaps if you live in the UK where you seldom see a sunset like this.

I’d still recommend it but I hope this constructive feedback helps.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We loved Terroir so much during our last visit two years ago, that we simply had to come again. It did not disappoint! We did get a chuckle out of the high number of Germans in the restaurant all around us, in our 30's, we were also the youngest by at least 15 years.

Everything we ordered was beautiful and delicious and the absolute star was our vanilla desert. It was the perfect balance of light and creamy with perfect crunch. The vanilla flavor was obvious but completely natural and not so sweet as vanilla often likes to be.

The service was excellent.

We will happily visit again!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelejeannine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terroir also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Terroir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing