We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Cape Wine Tasting Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Cape Wine Tasting Tours
from US$106.90
More Info
from US$131.60
More Info
from US$107.30
More Info
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bespoke tour incredible knowledge private tour wine tasting jonathan flexibility varietals sa region expert lunch cape vineyards
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

I spent a full day touring Cape Town wineries with Jonathan. It was one of the best days on my trip to SA. He is extremely knowledgeable. So for those who are not experts (like me), it makes for a fun day to learn from him and hear his opinions on all the wines. It was a very pleasurable day especially just chatting personally with him besides wine. Top guy, and highly recommend this to anyone coming to Cape Town whether wine enthusiast or not.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks Mark see you in NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We had a very nice tour with Jonathan in Stellenbosch and visited some excellent wineries. We were interested in what the area had to offer in terms of organic/natural wines and we were very happy with his choice of wine makers. The wines were of very high quality.
We were also very happy about the dialog we had leading up to the tour, where he pinpointed more specifically what we were interested in. As others have pointed out, his knowledge in wine and wine making is vast and is happy to share it in a relaxed and informal way. We are very happy to recommend this tour to others – especially for those with an above average interest in wine and seek a more tailormade experience that may be difficult to find elsewhere. I hope to come back to SA soon for another tour!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Erik_808909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks Eric, hope you find the Reyneke at Systembolaget, let us know, go well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We were visiting Stellenbosch and at the last minute realized it would be a much more enjoyable day if we didn't have to worry about driving ourselves (with the associated abstinence required) so found a recommendation for Jonathan on Tripadvisor and sent him a text and email. He responded promptly and met us first thing the following morning. I had planned various wineries, and he suggested a couple of modifications which sounded good, so off we went. I loved the places he picked, and he was fun to hang out with. Knowledgeable but not in the least pretentious, was open to different ideas about the wine from our young adult/late teenage children. Overall highly recommended, glad we decided to give it a try!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Dogbluehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thanks Trish hope return to Beantown wasn't too much of a thermal shock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We came to Stellenbosch without a prebooked wine tasting tour and found everything booked out. On some webpage we found Jonathans Number and he answered in a slightly sleepy way at 8am in the morning but he immediatly made a very proactive impression, organized a car and took us on a great day of fantastic wine tasting, most detailed explanations and a wonderful picknick lunch. IF you are looking for a very well guided private tour and are interested in all the very smallest details of the wine business Jonathan is your man!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank UlTra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

dont forget that skiing trip you promised me;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We contacted Jonathan after reading his reviews and found his prices to be much more reasonable than others for a private tour. And he is a winemaker too so has vast knowledge of the industry. He really knew his stuff, great relationships at the wineries, and was super helpful at suggesting the best wines from the tasting menus. Sometimes you can be overwhelmed with what is offered, but he was great at directing us through the list - the wines to skip and which wines to taste. He was very detailed in planning our visits, asked what varietals we were interested in, and had lunch booked for us as well. On top of all the wine knowledge, he has a fun personality - so spending an entire day with him was a pleasure. We have been on private wine tours all over the world, and our experience with Jonathan is up there. Highly recommended! Bonus tip : either ask ahead of time, or stop at a wine shop to buy a wine shipping box to take home your favorites. We packed it up, wrapped the box at the airport in cellophane at those mini stations, and checked it on the airline. Happy to report everyone made it home in one piece.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank CaddyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thanks Caroline, was my pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews