We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super day with Jonathan”

Cape Wine Tasting Tours
Ranked #19 of 52 Tours in Stellenbosch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer winemaker-led wine tours for curious, enthusiastic beginners through to wine anoraks, if you want to know for e.g. whether cork or screw cap is best, or how and why all reds go through malolactic fermentation - and taste some fantastic wines, I hope I can help you enjoy a memorable day among some of the most beautiful winelands of the world.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Jonathan offers super wine tours. We spent a whole day with him in the Franschhoek region. Just the two of us. After finding out what wine types we liked he took us to many different vineyards and explained the wines and making in great detail. If you're looking for a guide with a lot of wine knowledge and of the region this is the man. Thanks for the tour Jonathan.

Thank darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 3 reviews
"jonathan"
in 16 reviews
"constantia"
in 3 reviews
"expert"
in 2 reviews
"region"
in 3 reviews
"driver"
in 2 reviews
"lunch"
in 4 reviews
"vineyards"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

I spent a full day touring Cape Town wineries with Jonathan. It was one of the best days on my trip to SA. He is extremely knowledgeable. So for those who are not experts (like me), it makes for a fun day to learn from him and hear his opinions on all the wines. It was a very pleasurable day especially just chatting personally with him besides wine. Top guy, and highly recommend this to anyone coming to Cape Town whether wine enthusiast or not.

Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks Mark see you in NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We had a very nice tour with Jonathan in Stellenbosch and visited some excellent wineries. We were interested in what the area had to offer in terms of organic/natural wines and we were very happy with his choice of wine makers. The wines were of very high quality.
We were also very happy about the dialog we had leading up to the tour, where he pinpointed more specifically what we were interested in. As others have pointed out, his knowledge in wine and wine making is vast and is happy to share it in a relaxed and informal way. We are very happy to recommend this tour to others – especially for those with an above average interest in wine and seek a more tailormade experience that may be difficult to find elsewhere. I hope to come back to SA soon for another tour!

Thank Erik_808909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks Eric, hope you find the Reyneke at Systembolaget, let us know, go well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We were visiting Stellenbosch and at the last minute realized it would be a much more enjoyable day if we didn't have to worry about driving ourselves (with the associated abstinence required) so found a recommendation for Jonathan on Tripadvisor and sent him a text and email. He responded promptly and met us first thing the following morning. I had planned various wineries, and he suggested a couple of modifications which sounded good, so off we went. I loved the places he picked, and he was fun to hang out with. Knowledgeable but not in the least pretentious, was open to different ideas about the wine from our young adult/late teenage children. Overall highly recommended, glad we decided to give it a try!

Thank Dogbluehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thanks Trish hope return to Beantown wasn't too much of a thermal shock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We came to Stellenbosch without a prebooked wine tasting tour and found everything booked out. On some webpage we found Jonathans Number and he answered in a slightly sleepy way at 8am in the morning but he immediatly made a very proactive impression, organized a car and took us on a great day of fantastic wine tasting, most detailed explanations and a wonderful picknick lunch. IF you are looking for a very well guided private tour and are interested in all the very smallest details of the wine business Jonathan is your man!

Thank UlTra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snash2014, Owner at Cape Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

dont forget that skiing trip you promised me;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Wine Tasting Tours also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Cape Wine Tasting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing