We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,321)
Filter reviews
2,321 results
Traveller rating
1,351
724
168
58
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,351
724
168
58
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews segway tour wine tasting eagle encounters kids club bird sanctuary craft market cape town gas fire main restaurant rooms are large conference venue our honeymoon beautiful place garden route wine estate stayed longer wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 2,321 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

One anticipated a haven of tranquility after a long journey along the Garden Route. Instead the resort was not up to the anticipated standards and the stay was disappointing. The dinner menu was very unappealing for the climate and time of year, it lacked all imagination and was stodgy and unappetising.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for your review, we are saddened that we did not live up to your expectations in any aspect. We truly aspire to cater for all our guests. We will give the chefs your feedback to ascertain your disappointment and they will work at correcting their mistakes.

We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The location is great. The facilities are great. The accommodation is very nice - bathrooms a little dated. Sadly management were not apparent at reception and dining areas where they should have been

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craigholmes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

An annual haunt so biased as hell I suppose, but it is , for us , Perfect!
Huge rooms! Huge grounds to safely explore! Amazing & Cheap Wines! Great Food! Hoghouse Bakery Restaurant at Lunchtime!! Lovely Pool & very comfy loungers!
Staff are so friendly and will go the extra mile for you.
Even the serious water shortage and few restrictions could not tarnish this Home away from Home.
Management need congratulating in dealing with any issues promptly and efficiently if they occur, but the staff there are the biggest asset in making your stay so comfortable.
Joyce for always getting us a nice table at breakfast and on the terrace in the evenings.
Donnington was a lovely guy who excelled in putting you at ease and making us so welcome.
So many waitresses names I rudely cannot recall but all so genuine.
Thanks Spier for a magnificent stay.
Will be back next year.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Myself and my partner had an extremely comfortable, enjoyable and altogether pleasant overnight stay at one of the Signature Rooms at Spier. Staff are extremely friendly and professional. Thanks to everyone at Spier.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phillipw296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

You will not make a mistake staying at Spier. The farm has so much to offer, from walks, swimming pools, spa, the Spier vegetable garden, artwork, wining and dining... the list goes on! We wish we could have stayed for longer. It is the perfect break-away.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tessad853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Spier Hotel, it is extremely rewarding reading your review - the team will be thrilled.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews