We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of De Hoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Hoek Manor
Ranked #50 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We arrived in at De Hoek Manor initially planning on spending only one night in Stellenbosch. Leana, who greeted us and checked us in, was so lovely and friendly. She suggested we might regret not spending more time in Stellenbosch. She seemed quite passionate about what this town had to offer. We also initially thought we had made a mistake by only planning to spend one night. We went up to our room and the minute we walked in we were impressed! The room was so inviting and romantic. I was particularly impressed by the bathroom. Heated tile floors, a huge soaker tub. We also had our own private terrace. Shortly after checking in we inquired with Leana if we had the option of staying a second night. She was so accommodating. We cancelled our reservations at our next stop on our road trip and had no problem paying the cancellation fee if it meant staying at De Hoek for one more night. A nice young man showed up with turn-down service of sherry and truffles. Breakfast was impressive with fresh flowers on our napkins and designs in our butter! Just simply beautiful with all the little final touches. De Hoek Manor made our stay in Stellenbosch so memorable. De Hoek Manor is well situated in Stellenbosch which allowed us to have a leisurely stroll back to our room. We will not soon forget this gem of a guest house and recommend it to anyone travelling to South Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

Turndown service included a chocolate truffle and spirits, what a nice touch. It's an easy walk to the university and resturants, & staff was quick to offer advice for places to go. Breakfast was good as well; we particularly appreciated all the fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redlefgnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

De Hoek Manor is extremely charming and beautiful. It is very well situated in Stellenbosch as we could walk to the main center of town. The staff were very charming and the room were extremely clean and large. The turn-down service was very nice. The internet was also fine. However breakfast took longer than expected to be served with little choice of food. The door handle of the room was also incredibly low to the ground and often hard to turn, which was annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Beautiful house, pleasant and very clean room. Excellent service and very caretaking and friendly staff. Good breakfast and for my purposes perfect location. I will definitly call again if/when I return to the area

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a lovely stay at De Hoek Manor. The management went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable, the location is central, the room was spotless, the bed was comfy, and the breakfast was yummy! Could not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the church, since the bells may wake you up! It is a pretty church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eah923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
450 reviews
0.2 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
Hunneyball House
Hunneyball House
#11 of 116 in Stellenbosch
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 116 in Stellenbosch
712 reviews
8.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
9.1 km away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Manor

Address: 7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: €133 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Hoek Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of the university town of Stellenbosch, De Hoek Manor is surrounded by National Heritage buildings and arguably boasts the best address in town. We offer luxury accommodation at great value and pride ourselves in our unrivalled hospitality and friendly yet discreet service. De Hoek Manor consists of five luxurious en-suite bedrooms, two conference venues, large verandas and two private courtyards. Our stylishly decorated bedrooms feature views over the oaks, mountains and Stellenbosch's most iconic landmark, the Dutch Reformed 'Moederkerk' ('Mother Church'). Cafes, restaurants, cinemas, designer boutiques, museums, curio shops, the Eerste River, Stellenbosch University and Boland College are all within easy walking distance. De Hoek Manor is the ideal base for tourists and corporate executives to enjoy and experience the captivating beauty of Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your De Hoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing