We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

96 Winery Road Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 300 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The iconic winelands restaurant,great views of the local Helderberg and a firm favourite amongst the Stellenbosch locals for the past 15 years and still wowing the faithful. A firm reputation for outstanding, friendly service, great food, wonderful steaks and remarkably good value, with the best selection of wines.Frequent award winner and each dining area has a cosy fireplace for the winter.
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Best meal in this country....ever in South Africa.Wow!!! Had the Duck Pie amazing, and Wingrib with Chimichuri!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank CarolM5752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018

6 of us had a 2 course family lunch on a Saturday. The Restaurant was about 2/3rds full so busy.

The service was excellent, as was the food.

Both starter and main were extremely tasty and the overall bill was good value for money.

Pleasant friendly waiter and nice rural setting. It was freezing and we sat inside next to a roaring fire - nice touch!

Out of the the 3 top restaurants in the Somerset West area I think this one is the best value, thanks to the recommendation I was given by a Capetonian guide who I met a week before while he was leading a group at Victoria Falls!

Booked online via their website and communication was quick and efficient.

We will be back!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisW311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Amazing farm style restaurant , compliments for the excellent service , and to the chef Ryan it was such a treat !excellent .!! we will be back thank you

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LornaC1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

After patronising 96 Winery we didn't visit it anymore for the last 18 month since quality was varying. The food tis time was good and the service attentive as always. Disappointing was to learn via an advertisement the next day that there was a special offer for Dinner. This wasn't mentioned when we were there!!?? Another disappointment was to recognise that a favoured wine wasn't anymore on the wine list. Fortunately, it was still available upon request. The big surprise came with the bill recognising that the price had increased by 60%!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 470dieters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We started off on the wrong foot, with miscommunication as the main culprit. We were absolutely delighted by the way this experience demper was turned around by the efficient and friendly service of our waitress Oreen and the positive input of the manager, Allan, The way in which Allan defused the situation instead of dismissing us, is a feather in his cap, not only wearing his business hat, but also displaying personal character. The food served was of excellent quality and taste. It is wonderful when one can experience quality of fish and meat on the same level at one restaurant. Compliments to the all round chefs.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 96 Winery Road Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to 96 Winery Road Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing