We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful end to the day”
Review of Peter Falke Winery

Peter Falke Winery
Ranked #22 of 148 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The exclusive winery of Peter Falke is nestled against the majestic slopes of the Helderberg mountains in the heart of the Stellenbosch winelands, South Africa. Groenvlei Farm is home to rambling magenta bougainvillea, delicate scented roses and wild lavender growing alongside carefully cultivated vineyards. Dating back to the 18th century, the traditional gabled Cape Dutch buildings of the wine estate belie a contrasting modernity within. The stately old homestead is partnered by a "boutique" winery, contemporary wine tasting room and luxurious outdoor lounge which have established Peter Falke Wines as the most elegant and serene sundowner retreat in the winelands. Owner Peter Falke and his better half, Daniele Gortz, invite you to enjoy the exceptional wines that reflect their lifestyle, cultures and personalities.
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Good wine (wooded chardonnay) and excellent kids play area but no food options for the kids. If going with adults only, HIGHLY recommended. Nachos looked delicious!

Thank TamJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are busy working on a kids menu and we hope toe welcome you back to Peter Falke Wines soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Peter Falke is a great outing for the entire family. The big open space grass areas are great for the kids and the little play pen and toys kept them busy for hours.

There Sauvignon Blanc was unfortunately sold out, but the Chardonnay was a good replacement. Enjoyed some cheese platters with warm fresh bread and eventually we stayed so long we had to order some dinner for the kids. The nachos are of the best I ever had.

Thank Rynoux D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back to Peter Falke Wines soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

With only one white wine to choose from the "wine list" to no real menu for kids and "dishes" that's priced somewhat over the top, this was my first and last visit!

Thank Johann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Johann
Thank you visiting Peter Falke Wines and for your review.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Peter Falke.
Two of our most popular wines, the Peter Falke PF Sauvignon Blanc 2016 and the Peter Falke PF Blanc De Noir 2016 are indeed sold out and we only have the Peter Falke PF Chardonnay 2016 as a "white" option. The grapes for the Sauvignon Blanc and Blanc De Noir were only harvested in January 2017 and production (unfortunately) takes some time. The new vintages will only be available in June 2017 as we take great care and pride in our winemaking to ensure that our customers receives only the best quality. Furthermore we pride ourselves with using only the best products on our menu. Our food and pricing is also structured as such to be shared (at least) between two people and provide for a more informal and relaxed experience. Please accept my apologies as this was not communicated to you.
Should you require any further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind Regards,
Alexa Pretorius
marketing@peterfalkewines.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

If you visit a decent vineyard you expect them to serve
most of their wines. At Peter Falke (German stock maker)
they proudly claim that everything other than Sauvignon blanc
is sold out and new Syrah would be released in a month or two...
If you want colorful socks, plenty to choose from in their
wine shop.

Thank MuratErtug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear MuratErtug
Thank you for visiting Peter Falke Wines and for your review.
It seems that there might have been a communication misunderstanding as we have all our wines available for tasting except the Sauvignon Blanc and the Blanc De Noir as these two are sold out and the next 2017 vintage will be released in June. The Signature Syrah 2015 and Peter Falke PF Chardonnay 2016 were released on Friday 31 March 2016 and was available for tasting along with the Peter Falke Cabernet Sauvignon 2014, Ruby Blend 2013, Pinot Noir 2015 and Exclusive Blend 2013. Furthermore the Peter Falke MCC 2014 and Muscat D' Alexandrie was also available for sale. I apologise for being sold out on two of our most popular wines in the tasting room. The new vintages were harvested in January 2017 and it unfortunately takes some time to produce. Please accept my most humble apologies for your experience. I will investigate this matter and educate my staff to better communicate out of stock situations to all our clients.
Should you require any further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind Regards,
Alexa Pretorius
marketing@peterfalkewines.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My husband and I were looking for the perfect wine experience to end our trip to South Africa. It was recommended we visit Peter Falke Winery, a ten minute drive out of Stellenbosch, up in the hills. It was suggested we seek out Reuben and say hello. "He would take care of us". A busy sunny Sunday afternoon, we realized we should have called ahead, but no issue, they accommodated us. Our tasting began inside until a table opened up out. Reuben was professional, friendly and knowledgeable; made us feel welcome and at home immediately. He sampled us through the Peter Falke repertoire and we settled on a bottle of "Evolution Blend" to go with delicious charcuterie and cheese platters.
From the manager to the dishwasher, the service was friendly and attentive. I have a soft spot for the hard working young man, Liberty, with his bright smile and willingness to do whatever was asked of him. It was obvious the staff worked together to make the experience for the guests special.
Relaxing on the patio watching the mountain turn red in the sunset, we were thankful for this last South Africa experience. Thank you! We will be back and next time will start our trek with Peter Falke Winery.

Thank pointbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaPretorius, Manager at Peter Falke Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for visiting Peter Falke Wines and for your beautiful review.
Our staff are incredible and we are very proud of them.
Kind Regards,
Alexa Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter Falke Winery also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Peter Falke Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing