We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
511
94
21
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
94
21
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dutch family cape town working farm the owner three course meal fruit trees excellent stay business trip swimming pool feel at home lovely place guest house paarl area three nights one night stay self catering breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We were greeted by friendly staff. Upgraded to a bigger room and found it really comfortable and enjoyable. In Winter it was a bit quiet but sure in Summer it is wonderful because of the lovely pool and braai areas. Had a nice walk around the farm, being led along by the farm dogs. Breakfast was fast and food was good. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DQHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Amidst the stress of attending Winter School, we had the privilege of spending two blissfully peaceful evenings at De Leeuwenhof. Delicious breakfasts,friendly service and luxury rooms. Choose the Barnyard rooms! The pool is heated and the whole premises is lush with gardens,plants and trees.

The serenity and the landscape will enarmour you, it is an experience to add to your bucketlist.

For a smalltown-woman this was divine and a luxurious treat.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaL1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Was surprised to see that it was a four star rating, rooms were very chilly with no additional blankets offered, no electric blankets, bathrooms were very cold.
The views are stunning and the staff are very friendly.
We loved all the dogs.

Room Tip: Cottages have the best view of the Paarl mountains
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Happiness49606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deleeuwenhof, General Manager at De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Lee-Anne,

Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the extreem cold weather. Since many years, it has not been this cold and record after record is broken.

The rooms and apartments you stayed in, do have heating via the inverters on the airconditioning. In the apartments, even up and downstairs, the heaters work. We will make sure, next time we explain how they operate more clearly, as this would have solved the problem. We do hate cold rooms ourselves.

It was a pleasure having you and we are glad you enjoyed all the rest.

kind regards,

Daan van Leeuwen Boomkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 day stay with our 2 small kids and friends. Especially the animals were the hit for our kids and also the pool and the fire truck..;-) breakfast had all u need and were yummy. And the rooms are big, bit dark.
We would def come back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

The setting was lovely. The breakfast was excellent. I appreciate the rationale which led to our hosts stopping by to chat at breakfast - but I would prefer a briefer chat as the length of it intruded on our enjoyment of breakfast. The cottage lacked comfortable seating and the sliding door to the bathroom was difficult to manage , noisy in the night and did not fully close. Needs fixing!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Niceynice2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews