We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit”

Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience
Ranked #27 of 53 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Description: The Swartberg Mountain Pass is a renowned UNESCO word heritage site and is the highest rated mountain pass in Africa. We specialize in fully guided tours of the Swartberg Mountain and traditional Karoo cuisine prepared on an open fire at our Kobus se Gat Restaurant. Our restaurant will match any man’s hunger with a hearty South African meal.
Restaurant details
Description: The Swartberg Mountain Pass is a renowned UNESCO word heritage site and is the highest rated mountain pass in Africa. We specialize in fully guided tours of the Swartberg Mountain and traditional Karoo cuisine prepared on an open fire at our Kobus se Gat Restaurant. Our restaurant will match any man’s hunger with a hearty South African meal.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had something to drink after swartberg pass . Not very friendly service . We didnt have something to eat. Very pricy.

Thank hannesswiegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, Manager at Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Hannes,

We do apologies if you think our service wasn't very friendly. We will make sure every one on our premises gets training on how to greet guests with a warm welcome. With regards to the pricing, our food is relatively big portions and we never had any complaints with regards to pricing before so we are sorry you feel that we are overpriced.

Kind Regards
Swartberg Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018

The owners wife swears a lot. She do not have the skills to talk to visitors. The food are very good and value for money.

Thank annibell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, Marketing Manager at Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Annibell28

We do apologize profusely about the incident in our kitchen, we are a bit short staff at the moment and sometimes it does get ruff and under pressure in the kitchen, but its no excuse for bad langue. We will bring this under their attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere. Very generous portions. Out of this world roosterkoek ( a traditional bread ) baked on an open fire. Do not miss this place. It would be a travesty. Ps: best cheese cake and milk tart.

Thank SandraN3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, Marketing Manager at Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi Sandra,

Thanks for the review. We are passionate about our service and appreciate all feedback so that we know we are still on the right track. We would love to have you back at Kobus se Gat Restaurant. We are also in the process of setting up accommodation, so with your next stop you may also sleep over! :)

Kind Regards
Chantel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

The roosterkoek was outstanding. Lovely plunger coffees, menu promises true South African cuisine. Nice venue for a wedding or function as well. Lovely bar area. You won’t easily beat the view you have of the Swartberge(mountains) of the Klein Karoo here. A must if you are in the area. We will be back!

Thank anri_bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, Marketing at Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Anri,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience with us. We always strive to give our customers the best service and experience. We've hosted weddings and events here before so we hope to see you back with us soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

A group of us decided to do a road trip, and stopped at Kobus for a late breakfast, with high expectations. The roosterkoek were awful, and my milk tart was inedible. Service awful. I guess people stop there because of the name

Thank 247LiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Kobus Se Gat - Swartberg Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing