We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Awesome Location and great food!”
Review of Kobus se Gat

Kobus se Gat
Ranked #15 of 53 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: At the foot of the majestic Swartberg Mountain Pass, a renowned UNESCO World Heritage site in the Klein Karoo, is Kobus se Gat. This proudly South African traditional veldt restaurant offers a farmstall, authentic Klein Karoo cuisine prepared on the open fire, and 360 º view over the Swartberg Mountain Range. Our business celebrates 20 years’ experience, since 1998, in fully guided adventure tours. Experience the mountain pass with one of our guides, or enjoy the surrounding areas of Oudtshoorn with a full day excursion. And for those who are comfortable with cycling, we also offer down hill mountain biking.
Restaurant details
Description: At the foot of the majestic Swartberg Mountain Pass, a renowned UNESCO World Heritage site in the Klein Karoo, is Kobus se Gat. This proudly South African traditional veldt restaurant offers a farmstall, authentic Klein Karoo cuisine prepared on the open fire, and 360 º view over the Swartberg Mountain Range. Our business celebrates 20 years’ experience, since 1998, in fully guided adventure tours. Experience the mountain pass with one of our guides, or enjoy the surrounding areas of Oudtshoorn with a full day excursion. And for those who are comfortable with cycling, we also offer down hill mountain biking.
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Great value for money accommodation in the newly built Rooms.
Great traditional South African food.
Breathtaking views, especially from on top of the Swartberg Pass.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LightPacker821180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018

We stopped after driving the Swartberg pass ,but found out that there is accommodation available as well .The most breathtaking view from your bed in the morning. SC or meals on the premises available. Made a note for further visits to the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mitzigrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, marketing at Kobus se Gat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Mitzigrob

Thanks for the lovely review. We hope you will come back soon and this time you should stay over at our cottages! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We enjoyed a cup of coffee on a cold and very windy day (April 2018).
Cosy "restaurant". Was too soon after breakfast to eat something, seems like a very popular destination.

Thank 8joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, marketing at Kobus se Gat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear 8Joan

Thanks for the lovely review. It does sometimes feel like the wind was born under the mountain!
We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us and hope you will come visit us again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were on our way to Oudtshoorn. It was rainy and coldish. We stopped for coffee. The coffee was really good. Very friendly staff. We had a very nice chat with Kobus.The gardens is beautiful and they have accommodation as well.

Thank ayvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swartberg-experience, Marketing at Kobus se Gat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear ayvdm

Thanks so much for the review! We certainly hope you will come and visit us again and maybe stay over at our newly build cottages this time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Great Atmosphere Friendly owners. Great Food and beutiful views. Situated at the foot of the Majestic Swartbergpas!

Thank bhadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobus L, Owner at Kobus se Gat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Bhadrian

Thank you for the kind review, we certainly hope you will visit us again in the near future! We now also have accommodation available so next time you can stay over! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobus se Gat also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Kobus se Gat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing