We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
596
310
104
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
310
104
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meerkat tour one night mosquito net log cabin early start dirt track garden route main building standard room cango caves filet two night stay homemade bread breakfast and dinner spent two nights beautiful setting ostrich steak
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of our garden route tour. Charming room and lovely garden . Ate dinner and would recommend Ostrich . A local G&T or beer to watch the sun go down worked well
Meerkat tour is worth the early start
Seemed to be a bit of an issue with the power later on the second night but didn’t last long

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you Laura, great to start the week with a great review! I appreciate all the compliments, glad you enjoyed your time on our farm.

Kind regards
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Very helpful staff who booked visits to Cango caves and an ostrich farm. Would recommend both. We were upgraded to a stone cottage which whilst luxurious was about a 10 minute drive away from the main hotel down a dirt track so felt a bit cut off. They kindly left two half bottles of wine for my husbands birthday and the cottage had everything you needed. Ate at the hotel one night. Delicious ostrich steaks. Breakfast a little disappointing. Self service beget compared to the individually cooked breakfasts we had elsewhere. Bacon had been sat a while and was very greasy.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nijo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This was a gorgeous place to stay. Views from the rooms and pool are amazing, lovely pool, amazing food (I particularly recommend the ostrich, cooked to perfection!). Staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank andreaJ7442DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

de zeekoe is in the midle of nowhere with superb views from our room , bar and restaurant . very quiet and relaxing . the food was very good and fresh and the staff very attentive . our room was very big and clean . we would recommend this place to anyone who would want to stay in the area . THANK YOU for services .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frog01LongEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks so much for the great review and comments.
Enjoyed hosting you on our farm :-)

We look forward to future visits.

have a festive holiday season !!


kind regards from sunny Oudtshoorn
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay at de zeekoe purely for the meerkat adventure close by the farm. We had a little difficulty finding it initially as its down quite a long dirt track and we arrived quite late. On arrival the receptionist wasn't particularly welcoming and we were told we needed to choose what we wanted to have for dinner so that it could be defrosted. We were also informed the latest we could go for dinner was 7.30pm which we felt was rather early. We then went to our room which was beautiful and had a lovely view from the balcony. We particularly liked the swinging chair. On arriving to the restaurant it wasn't very clear whether you had to wait to be seated. My husband had the chicken pie which was awful and I had a vegetarian dish which was also not very nice. The buffet area had salads which were uncovered and there were flies on the food. On reading the information in our room we discovered that there are no trained chefs in the restaurant and this was very evident in the food we had. I was sick during the night and I don't doubt it was due to what I had eaten. It's such a shame as with some trained chefs this could be a really special place. As a result we ate out the next evening in outdshoorn where there are plenty of good restaurants. Whilst the farm is remote, there are plenty of shops in the town and no excuse to need to defrost food. The meerkat adventure takes place on land owned by the same family but outside of this is completely separate. Make sure you book ahead as we secured the last 2 places on the meerkat adventure and we had to do it in our second day there rather than the first. Overall the hotel is very nice but the food let it down. Our advice would be if you can't get trained chefs to have a braii style dinner.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Jane

Thanks for the review and again for visiting our farm.
We take all comments very serious and do appreciate all feedback, even the negative ones.
We never have any complaints on our food or service, so i will look into this matter.

Regards
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews