We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$147
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbound B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Adley House(Oudtshoorn)
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thabile Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Advocate's Manor(Oudtshoorn)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
583
306
101
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
306
101
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeerkat tourmosquito netlog cabinone nightearly startfour poster beddirt trackoverlooking the lakegarden routemain buildingfish eaglesbird lifestandard roomoutdoor showercango cavesfilettwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Don't miss the meerkat safari in the early morning. It's worth it! The Cangoo caves are very impressive! We stayed at a cabin close to the water. Very rustic romantic and enjoyable with a stunning view out on the lake from a spacious terrasse! We grilled our own meat on the fireplace and didn't use the reataurant. The reception team is very helpful and professional. The welcome at the hotel was increadibel with hot towels and a glass of sherry!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 768ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed over for 2 nights in one of the cabins-on-the-lake. Our expectations were high due to the price we paid... Beautiful sunsets and lovely early mornings with stunning views! The cabin has a very big fire place which we thoroughly enjoyed, however, we did not have enough wood to last the first night and on the second night there were no blitz to ignite the fire, however, we as South Africans made a plan :-) We were 3 adults sharing the cabin, but the cutlery provided was only for 2, however, once again we made a plan... Breakfast was good, Leah who served us at the restaurant was friendly and a sweet-heart! Upon arrival we booked for the Meerkat Adventures, because that was the main reason for choosing De Zeekoe for our stay, but we did not have cash with us and was charged an extra R100.00 per head for the Meerkat tour due to the fact that we didn't pay for the tour in cash. We as South Africans don't travel with cash, we prefer paying for goods either with a debit, cheque or credit card. De Zeekoe made it clear, even though their terms and conditions state that you will be charged R100.00 extra if you pay with a credit card, that we have to pay the R100.00 extra per head even though we were payig with a debit/cheque card. Samantha at reception explained it's for their banking costs. We will return for the Meerkat Adventures for sure, Devey and his team were GREAT!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeZeekoeG, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Dear Guest
Sorry to hear that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your visit at de Zeekoe. We aim to make every visitor happy and therefor appreciate any feedback.
Cabins are supplied with some wood to get a nice fire started. More wood is availably at reception. Our cleaners should have added more wood the next morning, and for this I do apologise.
With regards to the tour,
De zeekoe visitors already gets a R100 discount on these tours as for outside guests paying the full amount. The meerkat tours finances are separate from the guest house, and due to bank costs we do have to add the amount paid extra if guests do prefer paying at reception. Therefor we encourage visitors to pay directly at the tours.

Thanks again for taking the time to write your review and we will work on all the comments mentioned.
thanks


kind regards
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

De Zeekoe Guest Farm is a real find, tucked away down a dust road on the outskirts of Oudsthoorn.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who really knew the local area and all that it had to offer. She advised us of several other attractions that she felt would be worth a visit. It was at this point that we realized our one night stay was not going to be long enough to explore the Karoo! Hindsight is always great!
Our room was lovely with a huge double bed, overlooking a well kept garden and lawn with parking close by, perfect!
The room was very well equipped with a good shower and a fabulous free standing bath, complete with an array of complimentary shower gel, shampoo and soap.
We had tea on the lawn by the pool which was served by John our fabulous waiter. Nothing was too much trouble for him, with everything done with the biggest smile.
Supper was superb, served outside on the terrace area by the bar. The food was amazing!
We were kept entertained by the antics of two young kittens who played together round the tables.
The next morning after seeing the Meerkats with Devey, we had a good hearty breakfast in the dining room with a roaring woodburner complete with snoozing kitten! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at De Zeekoe and next time will stay for longer!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 993franb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

It was a great stay in maybe one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in. Wonderfull staff, but a special thanks to mr John! Keep up the great work you do. You've made us feel real welcome and special!
And what a sunset was that! Just breath taking beautifull!
Also the meerkat experience was very nice organised and a nice experience, just as the visit to the ostrich farm next door.
Johan & Muriel

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeZeekoeG, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

What a great review thanks so much and we are so happy that you had a great stay on our farm.
Thanks for the thumbs up for John, i will make sure he reads your post.
Glad you had the time to visit the ostriches and the meerkats :-)

Safe journeys ahead

kind regards
Kristyv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed here for one night to see the meerkats! The farm is beautiful. I did believe the rates were a little high, especially since everywhere else we stayed in South Africa was less expensive and the S.A. Rand was low vs. the USD. Also tough for light sleepers as the walls are paper thin. The couple next door's amorous activities kept us up for a while. All and all though, a nice place, although somewhat difficult to find at night.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gregorya179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews