We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book here - Look no further”
Review of Vrede Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milnerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vrede Manor
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Vrede Manor was an absolute delight. Luxurious, very comfortable and very well positioned. 10 mins to the Waterfront or City and 20 mins from the airport. 2 min walk from the beach.
We were in the studio which was so beautifully furnished and well equipped. I would be devastated if I could not stay here next time I am in Cape Town. Colin and Mark are superb hosts and obviously are very experienced in providing everything you might want in a 5* Guest House.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majortom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in the Studio for 19 nights. My partner, daughter aged 6 & myself. It was perfect. Beautiful, clean and safe. The guys Colin & Mark were perfect hosts; helpful, knowledgeable and a joy to chat to. We will hopefully be visiting family in Cape Town again in the not too distant future. Vrede Manor would be our first choice everytime. My daughter loved the dogs, Boris, Daisy and Bertie. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADAMSHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was a little apprehensive about taking our little boy (nearly two) such a long way from home for a holiday, but that was quickly laid to rest once we arrived knowing the the owners, Mark and Colin had pretty much taken everything into consideration with regards to the things we needed - car seat, high chair, cot etc, but they went that bit further and contacted us beforehand to see if there were any special provisions needed.
The hospitality shown throughout our stay was second to none - we arrived as guests and left as friends.
The accommodation itself was to a very high standard - beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. It's an old manor house that has been turned into a boutique B&B whilst retaining it original warmth and charm. Situated within around 10 mins car ride from city centre and short cheap bus ride too, it has most conveniences you'll need - a stunning quiet beach, restaurants, supermarkets, easy access to the main roads (and therefore non-Cape Town attraction) and one of the biggest shopping centres I've ever been to!
We were gutted to be leaving and hope to return to the fantastic country and the warmth and hospitality that Mark and Colin shared with us.

Room Tip: 3 rooms available, you won't be disappointed with any of them?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This outstanding part of the world was matched by the wonderful accomadation we were lucky enough to be staying at, a large but homely manor house beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and very well appointed meant even when we were not sight seeing we still new we were on a very special holiday. Every aspect of the guest house had clearly been thought through carefully by the wonderful and welcoming owners Colin and Mark. From interior desgn and comfort to the truely beauiful gardens and relaxing pool area. Their local knowledge was impecable and advice on what was on offer to us meant we did and saw many things we may not have otherwise known about like the fantastic and cool Biscuit mill market, and the brand new bus service linked the guest house and cape town, V&A water front and other points of intrest with ease meaning you could happily stay without ever needing to use a car. Plus the bus was less then a pound so could save you alot of money.
If being in cape Town with an outstanding view of Table Mountain right next to the sea was not a good enough reason to get up in the morning then the breakfasts certainly are. We had a delishously different hot breatfast every day which was the perfect way to prepare yourself for Whale watching, wine farms, Cape point, Table mountain (which while we were away was announced as a new natural wonder of the world) or maybe something light like tea and toast with their Vrede Manor home made honey and jams before doing a shark dive.
The two weeks stay was as lovely, friendly and faultless from start to finish and we plan to return to this beautiful guest house in the near future. We have already been recommending to all our friends at home. Vrede Manor, Colin and Mark really made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in the apartment for 5 nights at the end of September. We chose to stay out of Cape Town to avoid the 'tourist trap'. We found Vrede Manor on Tripadvisor and it totally lived up to the reviews.
The apartment was spotless, stocked with everything you would need to self cater if you wanted to. We ate out every night tho!
The main house was gorgeous and we were welcome to sit round on the patio if we wanted to. We had breakfast in the house on our first morning while we found our feet and that was excellent. Freshly squeezed orange, ground coffee aplenty.
Colin and Mark the owners are extremely friendly and always at hand with any information and suggestions as to what to do and get around. They made some excellent recommendations.
We felt totally safe in the area and the beach and couple of restaurants there were excellent and 5mins walk from the house. Cape Town was a short hop on the bus or 15min by car.
We would definitely return to Vrede Manor if we were to go back to Cape Town. The apartment is great value for money compared to staying in the city's hotels.
There were some nice little touches, arriving to the apartment with ambient music already playing, fresh flowers, candles provided around the place if you wanted atmosphere and stamped postcards to send if you wanted to. There was even a bbq on the private terrace if you wanted to cook outside. My only negative comment would be lack of lighting on the stairs.
So glad we found this little gem outside Cape Town, thanks Colin and Mark for making us feel so welcome and the excellent night at Mount Nelson!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gar200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milnerton hotels
1.6 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
3.6 km away
Roman Retreat
Roman Retreat
#5 of 21 in Milnerton
15 reviews
2.9 km away
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
#1 of 11 in Milnerton
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Woodbridge Lodge
Woodbridge Lodge
#10 of 21 in Milnerton
28 reviews
0.9 km away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#9 of 11 in Milnerton
20 reviews
1.4 km away
Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrede Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrede Manor

Address: 10 Marais Road, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Milnerton
Price Range: €34 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Edwardian boutique guest house, Vrede Manor, is set in picturesque gardens, just 5km from Cape Town City Bowl and has been lovingly restored by its current owners, Colin and Mark, and boasts two superior en-suite rooms in the main house, and one luxury duplex studio apartment. The exquisite decor, together with Colin and Mark’s genial hospitality, not to mention the delightful company of the dogs, is the perfect place for the discerning traveller to relax and unwind in elegant and peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vrede Manor Cape Town/Milnerton, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing