We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hide Away Guest House
Ranked #15 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We spent two wonderful nights at this perfectly appointed B and B, in an upstairs room facing the lagoon. The views from veranda are stunning, the breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were comfy and spotless, the bathroom beautifully updated, and we felt very private. Cecil (a great cook!) and Colleen were friendly and helpful; Colleen offered handy tips for things to do. Believe her when she recommends the lemon meringue pie! Also, when we contacted Colleen from the road to let her know we were delayed travelling from Cape Town, she waited up past the check-in time to make sure we were still welcomed with fresh towels and given the choices for breakfast. SO appreciated!!
Though tucked away to give a feeling of seclusion, Hide Away is located within walking distance of the waterfront and we enjoyed strolling down for dinner. We loved this little gem, would stay there again in a heartbeat, and will recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hello Louise

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the comprehensive review on your stay with us. So many of our guests decide to stay with us based on the reviews of previous guests so thanks for assisting us with our marketing!

We are probably the same as you when you grade us as only 4 stars because there is always room for improvement. The problem is that we drop in the overall ranking in Knysna due to the 4 stars. You can imagine that it is extremely competitive here with the loads of places to choose from and we are all fighting for the same slice of the pie!

Sadly a couple of properties burnt to the ground during the recent devastating fires in Knysna but as the Phoenix rises, so shall Knysna. You will have to come back to see the new 2.0 version of the town.

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

My husband and I had the privilege of spending a night at this beautiful gem of a guest house Hide Away Guest House. Magnificent room, clean, neat and very comfortable. Spacious bathroom with white towels and black towels for wiping off makeup or suntan lotion - what a brilliant idea!!
The view of the old train bridge and The Heads is awesome and the breakfast was very tasty. A lovely variety of eggs from poached to fried, fruit and breakfast meats!
We were greeted by the hosts, Colleen and Cecil, they were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Loved the refreshing cloth that we received on arrival. I can highly recommend this guest house to anyone travelling through or staying for a holiday!

Room Tip: Close to the town center, walking distance to the Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manonmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Hello there

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the comprehensive review of your very short stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Beautiful Guest house. Immaculately kept. Rooms and verandahs/balconies overlooking the Lagoon. Colleen and Cecil were very helpful -- great suggestions for making the most of time in Knysna. Fine breakfasts. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hello there

Thank you for the great review of your time spent with us at Hide Away Guest House. We are always greatly encouraged by the comments from our guests as we realise that a large percentage of our future guests are influenced by what they read about us on the many guest review sites available these days.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Take care and kind regards
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

It's a great place to stay. Cecil is always giving you great advices where to go and enjoy the city. the breakfast next to the pool is awesome and the rooms are clean and with nice space. great location close to the watefront. I really recomend this guest house.

Room Tip: Second floor are the one with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hello Eduardo

Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us at Hide Away Guest House. It is indeed a pleasure for us to receive positive comments from our guests and know that they have left us after enjoying our hospitality and the beautiful town we live in.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

What's not to love? truly a lovely place to stay. Knysna is stunning! it is one of the more expensive stops along the garden route but you'll understand why when you there. My wife and I really loved the very large rrom we stayed in and would highly recommend Hide Away for couples looking for a spacious room that's super private.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clintdebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hello there Clint

Good to hear from you again! We hope you enjoyed the wedding you were attending after leaving us.

Thank you for taking the time out to do the review on your stay with us - it is most appreciated. We know that these days, time is precious but good reviews certainly assist us in attracting new business to Hide Away.

We hope to see you back in Knysna, for longer than 1 night, in the not too distant future. Maybe you should investigate coming down to the Oyster Festival on a "gig".

Chat again soon.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.7 km away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
20.1 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
4.1 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
282 reviews
0.1 km away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#6 of 129 in Knysna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: €63 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing