We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another superb visit to this welcoming Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hide Away Guest House
Ranked #15 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed at Hide Away in 2014 and when we planned our return trip to South Africa this was one of the first "revisit" places we booked. Prior to our visit we had some communication and Colleen and Cecil made us feel they were pleased we were returning. On arrival we were met with warm smiles; teas and a run down on the recommended local resurants. Colleen was helpful as ever to book the resturant for us. What is also great is that Colleen and Cecil are familiar with the resturants. The resturants we visited over our 3 nights were all very popular with the locals.
We again booked a room overlooking the lagoon and Knysna Heads. The views are superb and I would certainly recommend this option.
Breakfast was lovely and we just felt nothing was too much trouble. Colleen and Cecil work hard to ensure that their guests feel at home.
Would recommend and would definitely return. If/When they get the steam train running again the views again will be superb. Thank you Colleen & Cecil.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views overlooking the Lagoon you will not be disapponted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Hello Alison & Ian

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your second stay with us at Hide Away Guest House.

We are always pleased when we have returning guests, especially International guests, as we know you just have so much choice when it comes to deciding on where to go and to stay, especially here in Knysna!

We hope to see you back in the not too distant future. As you know there is still loads of geocaching to do in the area!

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights during our recent visit to Knysna. We were met by our hosts upon our arrival and were given a lot of information about the guest house and surrounding area. We were then showen to our room which was great! We had a direct view of the Knysna Heads and the lagoon, and we spent much of our first evening on our balcony planning the days of our visit.

The guest house is situated just off the main road in to Knysna, and although it is noisy during the day it does quieten down in the evening and it can not be heard from the guest house at night.

The breakfast is fantastic, with the option of cereals, toast, fruit and hot cooked items. We just wish that we didn't have to order it the night before. It would have beem perfect if we could have decided what we wanted to eat on the morning itself.

Otherwise a brilliant stay and would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Hello Scott

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us at Hide Away Guest House.

We have found that once guests have decided on the town they are going to stay in whilst travelling along the garden route, they then turn to Tripadvisor for assistance in choosing the place to stay and reviews make a huge impact on their decision. Gone are the days when a star grading defined where guests stayed! Its all about what other people have experienced and say.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa and that it has given you an idea of what to expect when you next return!

Take care and kind regards.

Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Cecil and Colleen made us very welcome when we stayed for a couple of nights in October, the views from our room across the bay were fantastic. Coleen was very helpful on our arrival where she was able to make bookings for restaurants, and offered a number of alternatives for us to choose from.

The guest house is a little way out of the town/waterfront, but the taxi service was great (cost around 60SAR each ways), and you could easily walk this during the day, some restaurants also offer a pick up and drop off service, which we used once.

The beds had electric blankets (helpful on the cooler Spring nights), and a well stocked mini bar, and spacious room.

A very hearty breakfast was on offer with plenty of choice (hot and cold), which is requested the night before.

Some reviews have mentioned road noise, which i have to say I didn't notice, but you may hear this if sitting out on the veranda in the evening (but it was a bit cold for us to do that).

Colleen was also very informative on places to visits and routes to take.

We wish we could have stayed longer, perhaps next time...

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was a good size and great views of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Hi there Alistair

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the thorough review on your stay with us at the beginning of October. We do appreciate the great comments!

As we said, you have loads of reasons to come back to Knysna as there is just so much more for you to see and do and of course the great golf courses we have in the vicinity. If you need assistance with booking tee off times, let us know!

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We choose this guest house to stay as we want to "hide away" from the city. Good choice as far as the view over the lagoon is concerned. Unfortunately the noise of the highway close by was somewhat disappointing. Service given at this guest house was very structured and organized. In some way made up for the noise if you like that. Four nights we stayed there overall good experience.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kobus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Hello Kobus & Lisbe

We hope that you had a good flight back to Johannesburg!

Thank you once again for staying with us at Hide Away and for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us.

Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the noise from the road, which fortunately does quieten down considerably during the night. Living here we have become almost oblivious to the noise - its probably like living next to a railway line where over a period of time you don't hear the trains passing by!

Maybe we will get to meet again for another wedding anniversary celebration!

Take care and kind regards.

Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were staying here for 2 nights but stayed for 3 as we really enjoyed our stay here. It is a great base for the many attractions there and Colleen was very helpful with advice and arranging transport and bookings for us. Cecil cooked a great breakfast and all the staff were great. The room was lovely and comfortable with a great view over the lagoon. We will be back next time we visit your lovely country. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank heathergreasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Hello there

Thank you for the great review!

It is so encouraging to receive positive feedback on the efforts we make to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and its even better when they decide they will return when next they are in our part of the world.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful country!

Keep healthy and well until we meet again.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.7 km away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
20.1 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
4.1 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
282 reviews
0.1 km away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#5 of 129 in Knysna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: €66 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing