We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Knysna Belle(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseroc Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The St. James of Knysna(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
258
51
22
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
51
22
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoontree housemoroccan suitecourse menumagical placetwo nightsstunning viewsworld classgarden routebomabarrelmonkeysforestlodgebathaccommodationpicnic
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2017

What an amazing place! Stay in a tree house, stroll on the boardwalks through the forest and swim in super pools. We only stayed one night which wasn't enough. We had a lovely dinner in the Boma with great wine and great service. Facilities were excellent and you're completely surrounded by nature with lots to look at. Room quality is great too.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Damo_and_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We recently stayed at the Phantom Forest Eco-retreat and had the most incredible experience. From when we arrived the service was excellent, the accommodation was next level and every detail was considered. The moment that we walked in the front door of our tree house left us speechless. Unfortunately we were only there for one night, and would have really loved to have stayed longer to really relax properly. The tree houses are really private and secluded. You feel at peace when you're there.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eliset545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank your review on our magical lodge in the forest. We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We stayed here one night a few weeks ago. Was absolutely phenomenal. Incredible attention to detail. Sandy was so helpful during the booking process. The 6 course dinner is a must do... I just wish we had stayed a lot longer to fully appreciate the place!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJWilliams1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review on our magical place set in the forest. We are also glad that you tried out our boma restaurant 6 course menu! It certainly is a colourful carpet ride for the senses. We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Unique, intimate and stunning location.

From the moment we arrived and had to be picked up from the carpark (no cars allowed) we were made to feel very special.

The room we had was stunning, spacious, special, beautifully designed and incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diverchickShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review on our magical lodge! Hopefully we will get to host you many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Moroccan suites for 2 nights. The individual cottages are beautifully decorated, including a bathroom with huge glass windows and partial roof so you can lie in the bathtub and admire the forest around you! The cottages are well situated to ensure privacy and have their own terrace and outdoor bar. You really feel hidden away in the forest. The pool area is also beautiful with stunning views. The restaurant serves an amazing breakfast on the terrace, and dinner (a six course delight) is creative and delicious. They even prepared picnic baskets for us to take along on our day trip! There is a forest trail (45min) that is well worth exploring. It was a magical experience, I was quite sad to leave this morning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nutrilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews