We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$257
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
US$136
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
aha The Rex Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Roseroc Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
258
51
22
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
51
22
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse dinnertree houseour honeymoonmagical placetwo nightsstunning viewsbomaforestsuitelodgebathaccommodationpicnicnaturescorpionretreattreehouse
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We stayed here one night a few weeks ago. Was absolutely phenomenal. Incredible attention to detail. Sandy was so helpful during the booking process. The 6 course dinner is a must do... I just wish we had stayed a lot longer to fully appreciate the place!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJWilliams1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review on our magical place set in the forest. We are also glad that you tried out our boma restaurant 6 course menu! It certainly is a colourful carpet ride for the senses. We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Unique, intimate and stunning location.

From the moment we arrived and had to be picked up from the carpark (no cars allowed) we were made to feel very special.

The room we had was stunning, spacious, special, beautifully designed and incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diverchickShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review on our magical lodge! Hopefully we will get to host you many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Moroccan suites for 2 nights. The individual cottages are beautifully decorated, including a bathroom with huge glass windows and partial roof so you can lie in the bathtub and admire the forest around you! The cottages are well situated to ensure privacy and have their own terrace and outdoor bar. You really feel hidden away in the forest. The pool area is also beautiful with stunning views. The restaurant serves an amazing breakfast on the terrace, and dinner (a six course delight) is creative and delicious. They even prepared picnic baskets for us to take along on our day trip! There is a forest trail (45min) that is well worth exploring. It was a magical experience, I was quite sad to leave this morning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nutrilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We'd read about the Phantom Forest before we planned our trip and really wanted to stay there. We booked for two nights in a classic tree suite. It was a magical experience and certainly a unique place to stay! The suite itself was beautifully decorated with a large terrace and a gorgeous bath overlooking the trees. You really do feel like this is a retreat, from the fact that you can't drive up to it yourself, to the fact that when you're in your suite, it feels like it's just you and the trees. We had a lovely time the first day sharing a bottle of wine whilst looking out into the forest. At night it was silent and we slept like logs. The African story left on the pillow to read before bed was a nice touch!

Breakfast was a delight - we ate outside and there were lots of little touches, like having a special surprise Easter breakfast which was a work of art! We ate both nights in the Forest boma. The first night, we were blown away by it - every course was delicious. Note that although it is 6 courses and quite a lot of food, one course is a sorbet and the 'cheese course' is barely a mouthful of food, so really it's four, and the first course is just soup. You choose your starter, main and dessert, and the menu changes daily. The chef clearly goes to a lot of effort to keep things interesting and the presentation was bordering on art! Dinner on the second night wasn't so good - the main courses weren't as enticing, one of them I couldn't have as I have a shellfish allergy, so I had to have duck with red cabbage and sweet potato, and it was the sweetest, most cloying thing I've ever eaten. In fact I couldn't eat it because it was too much. Thankfully all my other courses were good but it was rather disappointing, especially given that it's not the cheapest dining option in the world.

All in all we had a fabulous stay at the Phantom Forest but a couple of little things made it less than perfect for us. Firstly, the disappointing dinner at the Boma on night two was a shame. It's not that easy to just pop out to Knysna as it's such a hassle not being able to drive all the way to the Eco Reserve (you have to park in the car park and be picked up and driven up the mountain) so unless you want that headache you have to eat there. There's no lighter option either - it's 6 courses or nothing. I also felt like I spent most of our stay looking out for scorpions or spiders. I was expecting bugs, but I'm severely arachnophobe and it never really occurred to me to be worried about arachnids when we booked - and then I saw how 'rustic' the lodges were. They can get in very easily. I was rewarded when at 6am on the second morning I went to use the bathroom and found a huge spider grinning at me from the shower wall. Thank god for husbands! We also had a lot of huge termites in the suite at night but they minded their own business (aside from one that fell in the sink and needed rescuing.) Lastly, it was COLD. We had all the heaters in the suite on, ignoring the guilt we felt (it's an eco lodge after all) but it was seriously cold all the time. The only thing that helped was getting into that huge bath!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Plum378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed here for three nights in early April. The setting and accommodation is beautiful, and the food was great - the evening meals were very enjoyable, and very reasonably priced for a 6 course menu.
However, the website promises much more than the place delivered. There were supposed to be a second restaurant, but this was closed. They also emphasise their massage services, with a wide range of different massages - but when two of us enquired we were told that we could have a 1 hour treatment only, and not at the same time unless other guests also wanted massages, to make it worthwhile asking the massage therapists to come.
Also the service was poor at times - you would have to wait in the bar before dinner for someone to come and offer you a drink, for example.
It felt as though the season had ended, and the place was half shut. It was such a pity, we had really been looking forward to some pampering, and it just didn't live up to its website.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SueRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for your review on Phantom Forest. We regret that we did not live up to expectations that you found on our website. Phantom Forest prides itself with guest service excellence and we do take your comments seriously. Unfortunately our Moroccan"Çhutzpah" restaurant is only open for groups of twelve or more. We sincerely hope that we get the chance to host you once again in the future with a chance to prove that we can live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews