We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place to hide away and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We recently stayed at the Phantom Forest Eco-retreat and had the most incredible experience. From when we arrived the service was excellent, the accommodation was next level and every detail was considered. The moment that we walked in the front door of our tree house left us speechless. Unfortunately we were only there for one night, and would have really loved to have stayed longer to really relax properly. The tree houses are really private and secluded. You feel at peace when you're there.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eliset545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank your review on our magical lodge in the forest. We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

We stayed here one night a few weeks ago. Was absolutely phenomenal. Incredible attention to detail. Sandy was so helpful during the booking process. The 6 course dinner is a must do... I just wish we had stayed a lot longer to fully appreciate the place!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJWilliams1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review on our magical place set in the forest. We are also glad that you tried out our boma restaurant 6 course menu! It certainly is a colourful carpet ride for the senses. We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Unique, intimate and stunning location.

From the moment we arrived and had to be picked up from the carpark (no cars allowed) we were made to feel very special.

The room we had was stunning, spacious, special, beautifully designed and incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diverchickShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review on our magical lodge! Hopefully we will get to host you many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Moroccan suites for 2 nights. The individual cottages are beautifully decorated, including a bathroom with huge glass windows and partial roof so you can lie in the bathtub and admire the forest around you! The cottages are well situated to ensure privacy and have their own terrace and outdoor bar. You really feel hidden away in the forest. The pool area is also beautiful with stunning views. The restaurant serves an amazing breakfast on the terrace, and dinner (a six course delight) is creative and delicious. They even prepared picnic baskets for us to take along on our day trip! There is a forest trail (45min) that is well worth exploring. It was a magical experience, I was quite sad to leave this morning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nutrilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We'd read about the Phantom Forest before we planned our trip and really wanted to stay there. We booked for two nights in a classic tree suite. It was a magical experience and certainly a unique place to stay! The suite itself was beautifully decorated with a large terrace and a gorgeous bath overlooking the trees. You really do feel like this is a retreat, from the fact that you can't drive up to it yourself, to the fact that when you're in your suite, it feels like it's just you and the trees. We had a lovely time the first day sharing a bottle of wine whilst looking out into the forest. At night it was silent and we slept like logs. The African story left on the pillow to read before bed was a nice touch!

Breakfast was a delight - we ate outside and there were lots of little touches, like having a special surprise Easter breakfast which was a work of art! We ate both nights in the Forest boma. The first night, we were blown away by it - every course was delicious. Note that although it is 6 courses and quite a lot of food, one course is a sorbet and the 'cheese course' is barely a mouthful of food, so really it's four, and the first course is just soup. You choose your starter, main and dessert, and the menu changes daily. The chef clearly goes to a lot of effort to keep things interesting and the presentation was bordering on art! Dinner on the second night wasn't so good - the main courses weren't as enticing, one of them I couldn't have as I have a shellfish allergy, so I had to have duck with red cabbage and sweet potato, and it was the sweetest, most cloying thing I've ever eaten. In fact I couldn't eat it because it was too much. Thankfully all my other courses were good but it was rather disappointing, especially given that it's not the cheapest dining option in the world.

All in all we had a fabulous stay at the Phantom Forest but a couple of little things made it less than perfect for us. Firstly, the disappointing dinner at the Boma on night two was a shame. It's not that easy to just pop out to Knysna as it's such a hassle not being able to drive all the way to the Eco Reserve (you have to park in the car park and be picked up and driven up the mountain) so unless you want that headache you have to eat there. There's no lighter option either - it's 6 courses or nothing. I also felt like I spent most of our stay looking out for scorpions or spiders. I was expecting bugs, but I'm severely arachnophobe and it never really occurred to me to be worried about arachnids when we booked - and then I saw how 'rustic' the lodges were. They can get in very easily. I was rewarded when at 6am on the second morning I went to use the bathroom and found a huge spider grinning at me from the shower wall. Thank god for husbands! We also had a lot of huge termites in the suite at night but they minded their own business (aside from one that fell in the sink and needed rescuing.) Lastly, it was COLD. We had all the heaters in the suite on, ignoring the guilt we felt (it's an eco lodge after all) but it was seriously cold all the time. The only thing that helped was getting into that huge bath!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Plum378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
10.9 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
847 reviews
4.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.5 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
23.3 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
103 reviews
9.6 km away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#18 of 30 in Knysna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: €60 - €323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing