We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4* ”
Review of Knysna River Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knysna River Club
Ranked #19 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Nothing about this place is 4 star. I guess it could be a fun spot for a family trip with kids if you're not expecting much, but would not recommend it for a romantic getaway or anyone wanting a bit of comfort/luxury. Beds aren't great, amenities in the cabins are very basic.
Our room was light as day throughout the night (blockout curtains were only hung in the living room and the facility's lights shone right through the thin curtains). Birds are super noisy and you can hear every move your neighbours make in their adjoining unit. Not what we ecpected.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank son404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krcKnysna, Manager at Knysna River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear son404

Thank you for your recent review of Knysna River Club.
Please allow me to sincerely apologize for the very bad experience you had at Knysna River Club. The beds our company use is Sealy and all the beds are new. This is truly the first time we have had a complaint about the beds. Our units are fully self catering and the amenities in the rooms is according to the star grading council 4 star. eg conditioning shampoo, body wash, hand & body lotion. Our tea and coffee amenities is Ciro brand which is also up to standard as per star grading council. It is a pity you did not notify the management during your stay so that we could have moved you to another unit where the lights is not shining directly into your unit we will make sure to place block out curtains at the windows. Unfortunately regarding the birds there is not much we can do about them as they are wild birds and protected by Sanparks.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can experience the true beauty of the resort.

Kindest Regards
Eben Swart
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

The chalets are well equipped. The beds offer a very good quality for sleep , even if you might have some problems with your back. Only a few steps and you reach the beach Promenade. Very easy to reach via the N2, but situated very quite.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krcKnysna, General Manager at Knysna River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Marcus N

Thank you very much for the great review!!!! We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay at Knysna River Club and hope to see you in the near future!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The resort is absolutely amazing. From the time you arive till the time you leave. Absolutely amazing definitely a yes. The units are very well kept and comfortable. Only issue at night is the noise of some of the birds. It can become a bit of a disturbance. But other than that it's an excellent choice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mojaff786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krcKnysna, General Manager at Knysna River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mr Jaffer

Thank you very much for the kind review!!! It is heart warming to get reviews such as yours and to communicate it through to all the staff!!! We hope to welcome you back very soon!!!

Kindest Regards

Eben Swart
Resort Manager
Knysna River Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

What an stunning place to stay. The wooden house we stayed in was on the lagoon with an beautiful view over lagoon and Thesen Island. House no 4. The games room was perfect and the kids did enjoy the pool table and table tennis. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 4....stunning view over lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 306riaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krcKnysna, General Manager at Knysna River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear 306riaan

Thank you very much for the wonderful review!!! We hope to welcome you back to Knysna River Club Very Soon!!!! Kindest Regards Eben Swart Resort Manager Knysna River Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We came to Knysna for the Knysna half marathon we had originally booked accommodation in January but our accommodation was destroyed during the terrible fires that swept through Knysna. So we needed to find alternative accommodation ASAP. Well I couldn't have asked for better! Our stay was Fabulous the accommodation was amazing the only regret was that I never brought our children along. The facilities for children are amazing. Can't wait to come back with the children!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krcKnysna, Manager at Knysna River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Bronwyn D

Thank you very much for the kind review!!! We hope to welcome you and your children back in the near future!!!

Kindest Regards

Eben Swart
Knysna River Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
861 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
21.7 km away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 24 in Sedgefield
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
29.9 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
162 reviews
5.2 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: €99 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of the Knysna Lagoon, Knysna River Club is a private enclave of charming, luxury self-catering log chalets in the heart of South Africa's Garden Route coast. Surrounded by shady trees and well-tended gardens, the resort offers security, privacy and comfort for guests looking to unwind, and is the ideal venue from which to explore the quaint lagoon-side town of Knysna. Whether you want an active holiday or the chance to relax in the tranquil surrounds, we offer you a value for money accommodation, in a convenient location close to all amenities, the warm hospitality of our friendly staff, the comfort of our upgraded chalets and the opportunity to experience an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing