We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super duper - feels like home”
Review of Turning Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turning Tides B&B
Ranked #70 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at Turning Tides feels like home! Ian and Joan are amazing hosts and keep the place so clean. Food was excellent. Views over lagoon superb. Location fantastic. My only regret is that we aren't be staying here longer! Definitely my new place of choice whenever visiting Knysna. 5/5 for sure.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank cdcw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. See you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

We only visited for coffee and cake and a quick look around. Turning Tides looks a perfect location for a long or short stay with immaculate credentials and a setting to die for. If any Rotarians are in the area, a must place to stay. Ian and Joan obviously run a tight ship.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

What a lovely surprise;thank you, John, for your generous comments!
You may be interested to know we have just received an Award for the Most Elegant Guest House on Leisure Isle; a second surprise in a week...!
Warm greetings from us both,
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

A big 'thank you' to Joan and Ian for making our stay so memorable! Not only was Turning Tides spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, but the home-made jam and delicious freshly prepared cooked breakfast and muffins, together with fresh fruit and yoghurt was excellent. As we stayed there for a whole week, it was helpful to have the use of the fridge and kitchenette that was open plan with the dining area on the same floor as the bedrooms.
Joan and Ian couldn't have been more helpful and we really appreciated their tips and about what to see and do around Knysna. We would heartily recommend this delightful bed and breakfast to anyone - book early if you are planning to visit at peak times.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms - all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mardav03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the trouble of submitting your comments; so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Joan and Ian made us so welcome and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was perfect. We were welcomed with tea and Joan's special fruit cake served on the balcony overlooking the marshes. Joan furnished us with information on the local area and then spent over an hour getting us a reservation for dinner because it was Sunday and many restaurants weren't open. The room was spacious and comfy and breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Seelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

- very friendly and pleasant owners
- very good breakfast of high standard
- spacy and very well furnished rooms
- tranquil environment, excellent location
- very reasonable rates for such establishment which deserves at least 4-star grading

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vmedinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your generous comments. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 km away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
5.1 km away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#18 of 129 in Knysna
308 reviews
2.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
4 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
13 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turning Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turning Tides B&B

Address: 19 Woodbourne Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: €59 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waters edge of beautiful Leisure Isle in the Knysna lagoon. Safe walks on the level, Safe swimming beaches in close proximity. Ideal centre from which to explore the Garden Route. Restaurants in walking distance.Very secure.Bird watchers paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Turning Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing