We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure isle joan fridge hosts guests lagoon views
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We only visited for coffee and cake and a quick look around. Turning Tides looks a perfect location for a long or short stay with immaculate credentials and a setting to die for. If any Rotarians are in the area, a must place to stay. Ian and Joan obviously run a tight ship.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

What a lovely surprise;thank you, John, for your generous comments!
You may be interested to know we have just received an Award for the Most Elegant Guest House on Leisure Isle; a second surprise in a week...!
Warm greetings from us both,
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

A big 'thank you' to Joan and Ian for making our stay so memorable! Not only was Turning Tides spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, but the home-made jam and delicious freshly prepared cooked breakfast and muffins, together with fresh fruit and yoghurt was excellent. As we stayed there for a whole week, it was helpful to have the use of the fridge and kitchenette that was open plan with the dining area on the same floor as the bedrooms.
Joan and Ian couldn't have been more helpful and we really appreciated their tips and about what to see and do around Knysna. We would heartily recommend this delightful bed and breakfast to anyone - book early if you are planning to visit at peak times.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms - all excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mardav03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the trouble of submitting your comments; so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Joan and Ian made us so welcome and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was perfect. We were welcomed with tea and Joan's special fruit cake served on the balcony overlooking the marshes. Joan furnished us with information on the local area and then spent over an hour getting us a reservation for dinner because it was Sunday and many restaurants weren't open. The room was spacious and comfy and breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Seelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

- very friendly and pleasant owners
- very good breakfast of high standard
- spacy and very well furnished rooms
- tranquil environment, excellent location
- very reasonable rates for such establishment which deserves at least 4-star grading

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vmedinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your generous comments. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

What a wonderful relaxing stay. No pressure, able to walk in any direction around Leisure Isle from this wonderful guest house. Room was immaculate, and I love my veranda! Very spacious bathroom and nice set up for meals, breakfast included in very reasonable rate, and facilities for doing your own cooking if wanted. Lovely owners, Joan and Ian make you feel welcome without being intrusive. What a shame I was only there for one night. Next time I will try to stay for a lot longer!

Room Tip: Room faced on to marshland so was very private with lovely outlook.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 151Gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews