We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
467
182
50
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
182
50
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews power station thesen island power plant island cafe interesting hotel gastro pub wonderful hotel garden route honeymoon suite beautiful setting breakfast was excellent attention to detail oysters wonderful stay knysna lagoon machinery workings
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Been here two nights
Food is very good and interesting building and concept
Bar is quirky and overall the staff are freindly

Accepting it is a bijou hotel still doesn't let it off with the rooms being variable
We had room110 and no room to swing a cat as they say
Others had suites which were OK
No views from the rooms we used but I believe there may be some with marina views
Rooms make this not a 5star hotel

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank niallmcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Hmmmm, I may have summed it up in the title. This place really lives up to everything. It says on its website so trying to think about what it doesn't cover?

People who work there go above and beyond, breakfast is AMAZING. The happy hour in the gastro pub meant a round was about £2!

The Mitchell's brewery, just a ten minute walk away kind of made it for us - food was great and beer also.

Super clean, nice vibe, totally recommend.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CCCCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Nice place within walking distance of the waterfront shops and restaurants. Interesting use of the old power station components to make a great hotel. Very modern design. Nice little bar attached to the hotel good for drinkies. Recent fires have damaged the local area significantly. Make sure you do the lagoon boat trip. WiFi was good.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank flatchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We had 2 nights here in the honeymoon suite, with our 10 year old daughter. The hotel is fabulous, very unique, very well done. The room was great, modern, large, with enough room for an extra bed. The only thing that let is down was the service wasn't quite what it could have been, the staff were all friendly but things like our daughters bed wasn't made up whe we returned from dinner on our first night, the second night we were back in the room ready for bed when the staff came in for turn down at 8.30pm, which was a little late really. We ate at the pasta restaurant which was great value but the food was nothing spectacular. Breakfast was good though, plenty of choice.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 831nikkib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This former wood burning power station has been turned into a very unquie hotel. Some of the turbines, boilers, gauges and pipe work have been carefully restored and blended into the hotel's interior, making a mini museum. The bedrooms are ultra modern with great facilities and extra little touches you don't often get these days. The hotel is situated on Thesen Island a water way which is predominantly housing and shops. My only negative comment would be at breakfast birds fly in the open windows and sit pecking at the breakfast buffet. Maybe if the windows are required to be open then mesh could be put up to stop this happening. Overall we had a fantastic stay and would throughly recommend this hote.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews