We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and Messy”
Review of The Island Cafe

The Island Cafe
Ranked #54 of 189 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This 90 seat restaurant at The Turbine Hotel creates a totally unique environment for all meals. Tables overlook the canal, pool deck or are nestled between the original refurbished turbines. Warm open fireplaces and majestic sliding glass doors allow us to maximize and match the ambiance and weather conditions. The Island Café has won the prestigious 2011/12 Diners Club Platinum Awards.Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous cafe! Has sooo much potential. Beautiful setting. Too bad the service is.... well below average and the food is... just average for the price.... The food is very little for the price being paid and nothing special. No special touches. We arrived and stood around with nobody to greet us and eventually asked if we could just seat ourselves anywhere. I had to remind someone to bring us menus. The coffees took about 20 minutes. The food
Took even longer.... none of the empty cups or plates were removed from our table or the tables around us... leaving the place feeling very messy.... The dirty table next to us was like that when we arrived and stayed that way for the entire duration of our meal...I saw three more tables that was also like that... Wont be back.
Too pricey to be eating average food amongst dirty tables. Only the setting and decor is special.

Thank Annemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Annemarie

I am not 100% sure when you dined with us but Monday the 2 April 2018.
We were very busy and unusual amount of guests per group all coming at the same time, not the norm at the Island cafe.
In saying this I do apologise for your experience and that you have left with this perception. All of the above concerns have been discussed with the team and can assure you this is not the norm.

Please feel free to make contact with me in person, chris@turbinehotel.co.za, I would like to talk to you in person.

Kindest Regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

We just had 2 Lovely milkshakes but the quaint cafe was packed with tourists and locals. Good service.

Thank a3whd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

One of the best reasons to be back in Knysna is to be able to eat at Nadines Coffee Shop.. our favourite go to place for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Sandy feet, small kids always welcome! Well done for going the extra mile. We shall miss you

Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for the feedback but your review is posted incorrectly.
The Island Cafe restaurant is part of the Turbine Hotel and Spa on Thesen Islands in Thesen Harbour Town precinct.

Kind Regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by Airbnb host that we had. The restaurant is located in the Turbine hotel, which has a very interesting history and architecture. The menu was somewhat interesting, but the preparation of dishes definitely lacked execution. The wait staff, although very nice, was unexpected, lacked knowledge on food and wine items and was not able to provide meaningful recommendations. Worth a stop to check out the scenery, but would find an alternative place for dinner.

Thank pavel_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Pavel

Thank you for your feedback and response. I am really disappointed to learn about your experience at the Island Cafe restaurant. We have shared your feedback with the team and do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

On holiday in the picturesque Intake and wanted to grab a breakfast. Great location, but no service at all. Waited 20 minutes for the host you seat us and then was offered a seat at the top behind a wall next to the generators with no view, even though there were tables outside. Asked to be moved and was accommodated begrudgingly so.

Coffee came 15 minutes later, and a further 40 minutes still no waiter. No excuses since there were empty tables. Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel and restaurant. Avoidat all costs!

Thank Wingnuts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest

Apology for the lack of service and the way we handled your visit to the Island Cafe restaurant, this is not the norm and we failed you in service.
There are no good excuses and I am sorry that no manager attended to you during this time whilst with us.
Please don't avoid us as it was a "bad day at the office"

Kind Regards,
Chris Schutte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Island Cafe also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing