We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
US$151
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Knysna Belle(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseroc Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
106
4
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
4
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool area isspacious roomstunning viewsmarcusguesthousehostaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Markus and Chris are wonderful hosts and their B&B is in a beautiful location and is a beautiful place to stay. My wife and I only wished that our time there could have been longer. We enjoyed a large bedroom / bath area and a private balcony. We miss the Knysna Laurie (sp?) and Markus' humble golf stories. Markus and Chris are a wonderful couple and make your stay in Knysna so comfortable and relaxing. Not to be missed, but we will miss them until we return.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmw1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. We're obviously missing the view, fantastic breakfast, awesome coffee and the relaxed easy going vibe you have created in your beautiful space.

We will be back on our next visit! Hoping for a few more days of sun to enjoy the pool and sun loungers etc

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richyrich051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

One does not simply leave Villa Mulligan without feeling rested, refreshed, and feeling like one has just won at least two more family members. Markus and Chris are a fantastic team, who make everyone feel incredibly welcome with their hearty and calm ways. Even the Knysna 'loeries' are attracted to this lovely Guesthouse, greeting all visitors on the porch every morning, knowing that a little fruity treat will be in store for them.
Tranquil surrounds and the most breathtaking views over the entire Knysna lagoon makes everyone's stay truly unforgettable.

And even when there's not enough time to visit for a few days, passing Knysna without popping in for a 'lekker coffee' and friendly faces at Villa Mulligan is simply impossible to do.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room offered. The view will blow your mind.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracing_Clouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

The lodge is upmarket, located 3km outside on a hill. Car is needed to drive to a restaurant for dinner (5 minutes), the owner (Markus) made a great recommendation. The view is stunning, the rooms luxurious. Breakfast rich. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Very nice accommodation a bit in the outskirts of Knysna (Kanonkop) but just a 5 min car ride to the town centre (which is not that spectacular BTW). Breathtaking views over the lagoon from the spacious deck/terrace surrounded by their subtropical garden.

Rooms well kept, tidy and clean, all en-suite. All (most?) of them with views and direct access to the deck. Friendly housekeeping staff.

The location at the boundaries of Knysna is not really a disadvantage as the town itself is not that overwhelming, apart from their pretty little waterfront. From Villa Mulligan you will see the entire lagoon with its tidal marshes falling dry and being flooded again. A panoramic vista you will always remember.

Breakfast is excellent. Chris and Markus are outstanding hosts.

If in ZA again, we would always come back.

Bernd & Gabi

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews