We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket Guesthouse with stunning view”
Review of Villa Mulligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Mulligan
Ranked #61 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2016

This is a German owned, upmarket guesthouse with a stunning view over the Knysna bay (Terrace). Rooms luxurious and neat, breakfast superb. Approx. 3km drive to Knysna harbour (fish restaurants), highly recommended. .

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

Markus and Chris are wonderful hosts and their B&B is in a beautiful location and is a beautiful place to stay. My wife and I only wished that our time there could have been longer. We enjoyed a large bedroom / bath area and a private balcony. We miss the Knysna Laurie (sp?) and Markus' humble golf stories. Markus and Chris are a wonderful couple and make your stay in Knysna so comfortable and relaxing. Not to be missed, but we will miss them until we return.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmw1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. We're obviously missing the view, fantastic breakfast, awesome coffee and the relaxed easy going vibe you have created in your beautiful space.

We will be back on our next visit! Hoping for a few more days of sun to enjoy the pool and sun loungers etc

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richyrich051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

One does not simply leave Villa Mulligan without feeling rested, refreshed, and feeling like one has just won at least two more family members. Markus and Chris are a fantastic team, who make everyone feel incredibly welcome with their hearty and calm ways. Even the Knysna 'loeries' are attracted to this lovely Guesthouse, greeting all visitors on the porch every morning, knowing that a little fruity treat will be in store for them.
Tranquil surrounds and the most breathtaking views over the entire Knysna lagoon makes everyone's stay truly unforgettable.

And even when there's not enough time to visit for a few days, passing Knysna without popping in for a 'lekker coffee' and friendly faces at Villa Mulligan is simply impossible to do.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room offered. The view will blow your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracing_Clouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

The lodge is upmarket, located 3km outside on a hill. Car is needed to drive to a restaurant for dinner (5 minutes), the owner (Markus) made a great recommendation. The view is stunning, the rooms luxurious. Breakfast rich. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.3 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#22 of 129 in Knysna
331 reviews
7.1 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
26.4 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#6 of 12 in Sedgefield
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
288 reviews
7.7 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mulligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mulligan

Address: 6A Metelerkamp Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: €109 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mulligan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Mulligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing