We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm wonderful Christmas”
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #37 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Well back again and still as wonderful as ever. John & Lesley gave us a wonderful Christmas. Spoilt rotten on the big day, great food and good company. We stayed in the family suite with our own pool and terrace. Simply wonderful, everything just as it should be, warm, fab breakfast, great rooms, good amenities and hosts sooo friendly. Will we be back... of course... where else would we go when in Hermanus. Thank guys for a great stay.

Room Tip: All great - get booking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Thank you so much for the great review, Jan and Chris. You made Christmas day extra special for us. Hope the trip home went well and that we will be able to welcome you back to Aloe House in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2015

Very pleasant and comfortable. Friendly staff and good food. Well situated within easy walking distance from town. Not much happening though as it is not whale watching season but still quite a few tourists around.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q3422MRireneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

We are very happy that you had such a positive experience with us. Although the whales are with us for an amazing 6 months, there is plenty to do and see once they return to the Antarctic. Extreme and gentler sports, hiking trails, one of the best wine routes in the country (now with a hop on, hop off wine bus), to name a few. We hope you return soon so that you can experience some of these activities on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

The Aloe Guest House offers an excellent price-performanceratio! The room was very nice furnished, spacious and bright and clean. The welcome friendly, the hints fabelous and the care really cordially. Old fashioned may be, but heartwarming! Breakfast left no wishes open. The distance to Hermanous is more than reasonable. When I left, I had this to every traveller well known feeling: wow, that was one of this bull's-eye stay!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank reto528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you for taking time to review us, Reto. We welcome your comments about the spaciousness and cleanliness of the rooms. Your review touched on some very important issues for guest houses, namely space, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, quality of breakfasts and hospitality of the hosts to name a few. We are thrilled that we met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I stay in Hermanus from time to time and am often confronted by the high prices.

I love Aloe, as it has everything you'd want: large spacious rooms which include a TV lounge section with kiddie sleeper couch, there is a pool, and the staff are extremely attentive. As the rooms are separate with access to the pool it has a boutique hotel feel. Being on the main road near the circle, there is no beach or sea view, although that is part of the value... not paying triple for the same amenities and being a short safe walk from the guesthouse to the restaurant square, so no need to drive after a few drinks!

I've stayed twice now and will certainly be staying a 3rd time.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank SnailsPuppyTails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, Ben. Many guests enjoy the fact that they can leave their cars and stroll into town without having to search for parking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

The Aloe Guest House is more like a five star hotel. Roy the manager made us most welcome and the rooms were of a very high quality with good views. The breakfasts were excellent and the dining room was set with magnificent views. When visiting Hermanus a great place to stay. Thanks Pete and Steve.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ptrblfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Many thanks for the review, Pete and Steve. John and I are blessed to have Roy manage the Guest House when we are away. We hope you'll be visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.2 km away
Fernkloof Lodge
Fernkloof Lodge
#44 of 89 in Hermanus
54 reviews
1 km away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#29 of 89 in Hermanus
209 reviews
2.5 km away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#27 of 89 in Hermanus
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 89 in Hermanus
237 reviews
0.9 km away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#22 of 89 in Hermanus
289 reviews
0.6 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#18 of 89 in Hermanus
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: €94 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing