We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
78on5th in Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hornbill House(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Season Farm(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Whale Coast Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$235
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
133
31
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
31
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefamily suitecape townhomemade biscuitslike coming homemade us feel at homewithin walking distanceperfect staythank you very muchgarden routeperfect hostsspacious roomone night stayleslieaccommodationluxurybay
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Having read all praise about Aloe we have to admit we got quite disappointed of our stay at Aloe (comparing to all other stays that we have had in South Africa). The hosts, John and Lesley, were very nice and helpful and tried to do their best but unfortunately not very visible during our stay (3 nights). The room was not very spacious for three people, especially not with a 17-year old daughter, and was a bit worn and not very nicely decorated or equipped (or "luxury" as been described on the website or by other travellers). The beds were very uncomfortable and so were the pillows (although Lesley tried her best to get a new one to me for the last night - thanks!). The staff was not very happy and seemed that they wanted to be somewhere else. The breakfast was a bit scanty and the staff was not very quick on refilling the yoghurt, fruits etc.
The WiFi didn't work very well and was quite slow.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Dear Irene
Thank you for taking the time to review Aloe House. Whilst we endeavour to give that personal touch to every single one of our guests, we do have to bear in mind that most people prefer not having intrusive hosts when on holiday so our apologies if you found us to be absent. Your complaint about our beds being uncomfortable is the first ever we have received, and again we apologise for not meeting your expectations. We were puzzled by your comment regarding the furnishings and equipment in the room as all rooms were recently newly furnished and the equipment is upgraded on an ongoing basis. We have also since spoken with our staff regarding your breakfast experience as it's important that every one of our guests receive a great start to their day. We are a small business and take every review seriously and thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

had a lovely few days in this luxury guest house ,close to the town and handy for everything else , John and Lesley were great hosts and very helpful and knowledgable about the town and surrounding area , can't wait to return in whale watching season

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank bert186326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to review Aloe House. It is a great pleasure when receiving valuable feedback from our guests and knowing that they look forward to returning to Hermanus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely lodge. John and Lesley are great hosts and our 6 year old son had lots of jokes with them. The lodge itself is modern and clean, the staff make a great breakfast and delicious biscuits. We took a boat trip and saw loads of whales, you can spot them from the beach too. John gave us info about local scenic drives and they were kind enough to let us join them for lunch when we bumped into them at a local restaurant. We stopped at Betty's Bay on the way back to Cape Town to see the penguins, thanks for the tip John. Looking forward to staying here again on our next visit to Hermanus. Jo, Mani and Cáel.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank No1Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aloe House and for all the compliments, Jo.
All feed-back is important to us and our staff. We hope to see you, Mani and little Cael soon again. The whales have begun their journey back to the Antarctic, but luckily, will return in June next year! In the meantime there's lots to do and see in Hermanus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

It was a verry nice stay in a beautiful lodge! The rooms are modern. And the staf is verry friendly and helpful.

The owner has given us some nice tips for wine tasting, good restaurants and to see some more whales.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for the review, Hans. Glad to hear you found lots of things to do in and around Hermanus. Many thanks for the compliments too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We stayed at Aloe Guest House from 5-10 Oct 2014 in the family room. It was our 3rd visit at Aloe.
John and Lesley is very friendly and helpful as usual. The family room is very spacious and comfortable with kids. Full DSTV with PVR. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review Aloe House, Marika. We are very happy that you and your lovely family intend returning for another visit. Harry and the whales say "Hi"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews