We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whale Coast Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

78on5th in Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
134
31
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
31
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade shortbreadthank you very muchperfect hostsspacious roomleslie
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely lodge. John and Lesley are great hosts and our 6 year old son had lots of jokes with them. The lodge itself is modern and clean, the staff make a great breakfast and delicious biscuits. We took a boat trip and saw loads of whales, you can spot them from the beach too. John gave us info about local scenic drives and they were kind enough to let us join them for lunch when we bumped into them at a local restaurant. We stopped at Betty's Bay on the way back to Cape Town to see the penguins, thanks for the tip John. Looking forward to staying here again on our next visit to Hermanus. Jo, Mani and Cáel.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank No1Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aloe House and for all the compliments, Jo.
All feed-back is important to us and our staff. We hope to see you, Mani and little Cael soon again. The whales have begun their journey back to the Antarctic, but luckily, will return in June next year! In the meantime there's lots to do and see in Hermanus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

It was a verry nice stay in a beautiful lodge! The rooms are modern. And the staf is verry friendly and helpful.

The owner has given us some nice tips for wine tasting, good restaurants and to see some more whales.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for the review, Hans. Glad to hear you found lots of things to do in and around Hermanus. Many thanks for the compliments too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We stayed at Aloe Guest House from 5-10 Oct 2014 in the family room. It was our 3rd visit at Aloe.
John and Lesley is very friendly and helpful as usual. The family room is very spacious and comfortable with kids. Full DSTV with PVR. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review Aloe House, Marika. We are very happy that you and your lovely family intend returning for another visit. Harry and the whales say "Hi"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We loved the Aloe guest house! We stayed there from 17 till 20 july 2014. Unfortunately, both the whale watching and a cage dive with white sharks were cancelled because of bad wheather. Thanks to alternatives provided by John our stay became a memorable one. We will never forget the mental (and Scotch!) support John gave us during the night of the difficult transport of our eldest son from Capetown to Hermanus. Thanks again John!
Martijn, Jeroen, Anke and Andries, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andries889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Aloe. The hotel is simple but comfortable and cozy. We were greeted warmly by the owners, Leslie and John. They were perfect. Helped us in everything we need. The breakfast is great and the Leslie's cookies are unmissable. Hermanus is a beautiful city with panoramic views of Walker Bay. We went to Hermanus for whale watching. And it was worth it. We can observe a lot of them from the beach and boat ride. Are there from June to November. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manoel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Manoel, it was an honour to meet you and Sandra. I wish I could say I bake the biscuits, they are baked by Catherine in the kitchen. John and I hope that you will find Aloe House on facebook. We are happy to say that Sandra has and we wish you both well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards. Lesley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews