We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for relaxation”
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #37 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2015

had a lovely few days in this luxury guest house ,close to the town and handy for everything else , John and Lesley were great hosts and very helpful and knowledgable about the town and surrounding area , can't wait to return in whale watching season

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank bert186326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to review Aloe House. It is a great pleasure when receiving valuable feedback from our guests and knowing that they look forward to returning to Hermanus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely lodge. John and Lesley are great hosts and our 6 year old son had lots of jokes with them. The lodge itself is modern and clean, the staff make a great breakfast and delicious biscuits. We took a boat trip and saw loads of whales, you can spot them from the beach too. John gave us info about local scenic drives and they were kind enough to let us join them for lunch when we bumped into them at a local restaurant. We stopped at Betty's Bay on the way back to Cape Town to see the penguins, thanks for the tip John. Looking forward to staying here again on our next visit to Hermanus. Jo, Mani and Cáel.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank No1Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aloe House and for all the compliments, Jo.
All feed-back is important to us and our staff. We hope to see you, Mani and little Cael soon again. The whales have begun their journey back to the Antarctic, but luckily, will return in June next year! In the meantime there's lots to do and see in Hermanus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

It was a verry nice stay in a beautiful lodge! The rooms are modern. And the staf is verry friendly and helpful.

The owner has given us some nice tips for wine tasting, good restaurants and to see some more whales.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for the review, Hans. Glad to hear you found lots of things to do in and around Hermanus. Many thanks for the compliments too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We stayed at Aloe Guest House from 5-10 Oct 2014 in the family room. It was our 3rd visit at Aloe.
John and Lesley is very friendly and helpful as usual. The family room is very spacious and comfortable with kids. Full DSTV with PVR. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review Aloe House, Marika. We are very happy that you and your lovely family intend returning for another visit. Harry and the whales say "Hi"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We loved the Aloe guest house! We stayed there from 17 till 20 july 2014. Unfortunately, both the whale watching and a cage dive with white sharks were cancelled because of bad wheather. Thanks to alternatives provided by John our stay became a memorable one. We will never forget the mental (and Scotch!) support John gave us during the night of the difficult transport of our eldest son from Capetown to Hermanus. Thanks again John!
Martijn, Jeroen, Anke and Andries, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andries889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.2 km away
Fernkloof Lodge
Fernkloof Lodge
#44 of 88 in Hermanus
54 reviews
2.5 km away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#26 of 88 in Hermanus
133 reviews
1 km away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#29 of 88 in Hermanus
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 88 in Hermanus
237 reviews
0.9 km away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#22 of 88 in Hermanus
289 reviews
0.6 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#18 of 88 in Hermanus
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: €93 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing