We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY 1ST CLASS ACCOMODATION AND SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Baleines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Baleines
Ranked #42 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“ABSOLUTELY 1ST CLASS ACCOMODATION AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband and I are well travelled and we stayed here for ! week.We loved every second.Teresa (the owner) stafff .food.comfort ,cleanliness was excellent.Nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend to everyone. Peter and Vilma

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetenVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
116
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

After finding the guest house very hard to find as it is too far from the town. On arrival was given 5 keys to remember for different doors. We were told a restaurant had been booked in town for us but as the guesthouse had been hard to find we thought a taxi was needed. This proved to be a problem to phone for one. we had to rush to get ready to go to the restaurant. There was no life in the Guesthouse, nobody behind the bar.
After reading Balaines write up we felt verylet down. We also met up with 2 other couples that had stayed there with the same opinion.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rothermere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

After speaking by cell phone, to the owner less than five minutes before we arrived, we were very disappointed that she was not at the front door to greet us. In fact we never saw her during our stay.

The concierge was so overbearingly pleasant that it felt forced and unnatural. After carrying our suitacases to our room, he lingered in our bedroom room whilst making it obvious that he expected to receive a tip from us. This is contrary to Les Baleines own policy on gratuities which may be given when guests are leaving. The concierge made us feel most uncomfortable at the time. We had to ask him to leave our bedroom.

We were told by the Concierge that Les Baleines had made a restaurant booking for us that evening and also a whale watching trip for the following day. The restaurant was lovely although we were told by the Concierge that we would have to hurry up if we were to be on time for the booking they made. No offer was made to reschedule it to accommodate us.

When we told the Concierge that we would not be going whale watching, his face said it all. It seemed to us that we were upsetting his plans and perhaps his own arrangements with the tour provider.

The breakfast was very disappointing. It lacked choice. The table was already set with yoghurt at each place setting. There was no sign of a cold buffet or cereals one would expect and which were mentioned on the breakfast menu. There were no serving staff in the vicinity either. When the Concierge was asked about cereals, his demeanour was one of mild annoyance that he would have to retrieve them from the nearby kitchen. When the cereals were brought to me, their presentation was very poor, I was handed a basket containing tupperware containers. I ordered a poached egg, the presentation of the egg was overly fussy and did not look appetising. The Concierge also forgot to bring the tea which had been ordered for the table and we had to knock on the kitchen door to get some service. The Concierge did not seem very interested in looking after us, his paying guests.

When escaping from this establishment, the Concierge very obviously drew my attention to the gratuities box which was on the hall table. I felt that he was observing me very closely to see if I would make a donation to the gratuities box.

All in all, in my opinion, it was an accumulation of the little things and behaviours which let down this establishment. I would rank this guest house as no more than a 2-star accommodation and as such is highly overpriced for what you get. I was overjoyed to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDaithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed in a number of boutique guest houses on the garden route and this was our only bad experience. Booked by Trailfinders for us it was expensive compared to other stops. It was way out of town in suburbia. The welcome was cold and abrupt and we were told we were booked into a restaurant several miles away for the next 2 nights and on to a whale watching trip. The room looked impressive but it was falling apart with taps dropping off, loose toilet seat and lights not working.

The breakfast was meagre with no choice being offered with a bizarre emphasis on style over substance eg our poached egg on toast was 1 piece of toast and wrapped in a piece of string.

There better cheaper hotels on the coast in Hermanus where you could see the whales from your bedroom. Why on earth would you want to stay at Les Baleines. We can't imagine why Trailfinders booked us here along with lots of other of their customers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickberry83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Our stay was very hospitable. Very clean, friendly, decoration excellent. Bathroom and bedroom was amazing. Very nice breakfast. We can only praise this guest house. It was a little difficult to find at first and a bit of a distance from the centre of Hermanus, but a private taxi service was very helpful in getting us to the restaurants in the centre. Excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auditt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
4.5 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
4.3 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
4.4 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.5 km away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 km away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Baleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Baleines

Property: Les Baleines
Address: 193 10th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Baleines 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Les Baleines Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing