We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Little gem...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Misty Waves and what a gem it is. Great location, huge room, fab breakfast overlooking the sea and a short stroll into the harbour with its many restaurants. The staff were super friendly and helpful with advice for our journey ahead along the Garden Route.
Thank you!

Room Tip: In summer ensure that your room had a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guests

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    202
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
93
434
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have stayed at Misty Waves before, so knew what to expect. Reception area is quite grand, with wood everywhere and "antiques". Not quite our style, but luckily the bedrooms are large, well furnished and more modern, with good bathrooms, complete with walk in shower and bath. We had a nice balcony, with sea view.

Service at hotel is consistently good and breakfasts in the top floor dining room were both scenic and satisfying.

Only real complaint is the pool area. We thought this less than good two years ago, and were convinced that the hotel would have done something in the meantime with this unattractive feature. Sadly that was not the case and the attempts to improve the grip on the slippy tiles with anti slip paint looked like algae growth! Please refurbish this area Misty Waves- it lets the place down.

Of course, if you are a winter visitor, there to watch whales, then the pool is of little interest to you!

Room Tip: Room tip: avoid 'heritage rooms'. Not nearly as good as rest of hotel rooms. Take care al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks you very much for your comments and the time that you take to give a feed back it is highly appreciated!

Just have to respond on the issue of the "brownish" product (might look like algea but definitely NOT ;))
at the entrance of the pool on the top stair before entering the pool. We had new tiles put in the pool and surrounding areas, however it looked lovely the top stair was a bit slippery and we had to take urgent measures therefore the brown product that was attached to that area. We did not appreciate the look either and removed it... a pity you can not have a look now. The pool is lovely and the guests are enjoying themselves in the heated water. Thank you once again for the comment and we would love to welcome you back.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We booked here because of Trip adviser and the price suited us. We are pleased to say that it was across the road from the sea. The friendliness we experienced when we checked in and the beautiful decor was a lovely surprise. Then they upgraded us and we even had a choice of room. It was so central and we left the car there and walked where we wanted to be. The Indian restaurant's food was delicious and the service was excellent, specially Archie. The breakfast was lovely South African style and we loved it. The staff was wonderful all over. It is really a boutique hotel and we could not have asked for more. The room was very spacious with a jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights but enjoyed Hermanus tremendously: The eccentric book shop and other little decor shops, the Burgundy and Fuzion were great to eat at lunch times with the sea in front of you.

Room Tip: We were going to be in a suite in an annexe but was upgraded to the main building, I guess they try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

mity waves was so divine, we stayed for 10 days in december. we loved every minute. staff were helpful and attentive, clean, great position and cant wait to go back again soon!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are stunning, the higher the better the view. we stayed on the bottom floor with nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerriliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have stayed at Misty Waves before, so knew what to expect.  Reception area is quite grand, with wood everywhere and "antiques".  Not quite our style, but luckily the bedrooms are large, well furnished and modern, with good bathrooms, complete with walk in shower and bath.  We had a nice balcony, with sea view.

Service at hotel is consistently good and breakfasts in the top floor dining room were both scenic and satisfying.

Only real complaint is the pool area.  We thought this less than good two years ago, and were convinced that the hotel would have done something in the meantime with this unattractive feature.  Sadly that was not the case and the attempts to improve the grip on the slippy tiles with anti slip paint looked like algae growth!   Please refurbish this area Misty Waves- it lets the place down.

Of course, if you are a winter visitor, there to watch whales, then the pool is of little interest to you!

Room tip:  avoid 'heritage rooms'.  Not nearly as good as rest of hotel rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.8 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing