We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Visitors -Wonderful”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #19 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in the Auberge in Ocober in the Left Suite. It was a really beautiful room and one of my favourites of our South African trip. We were given chocolates and a bottle of bubbly as it was my husband's bithday which was a lovely touch.

The staff were very nice and we had helpful tips on eating and of course whale watching.

The breakfsat at the Burgundy was excellent and would also recommend it for dinner.

Great location right in the centre of town. All in all, wonderful, wish I-was back there.

Room Tip: Right or left suites both lovely with sea views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeBurgundy, Manager at Auberge Burgundy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help make your husband's birthday a memorable one. Bon voyage and we hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Burgundy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 518 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

Very helpful staff, nice room and very good location. The restaurant across the road (where you eat breakfast) was good as well

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked in for a one-night stay and were immediately pleased with the light and spacious room, from where we could see whales in the sea from our window! The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The building itself is lovely, in the style of a French château and the sitting room area with log fire and complementary port and sherry is a lovely touch. Breakfast is at the nearby restaurant, which is 2 minutes away. Food and service here is also excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have lovely views. The smaller ones are often cheaper, but are hard...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Auberge Burgundy is right in the center of Hermanus town, around the corner from Gearings Point for whale watching and right accross the town square, market and restaurants.
Rooms are comfortable, though can do with an update ... a bit tired. Spacious thought, and that goes for the bathroom as well. Each room has a fully stocked mini-bar, televsion, airconditioner, coffee facilities. Close enough to the ocean to smell the sea and hear the waves.
The hotel's location makes it ideal for a walk through town.
There is no public transport in Hermanus though and the hotel does not proved transport to reach the beaches of Onrus, Grotto and Voelklip. If you do not have your own transport, your trip will be limited to the center of town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelreporterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I had a couple of days break from Capetown and travelled down to Hermanus hoping to see some early season whales.
The Auberge was very quiet and we had a suite at the swimming pool. The suite is large and offers self catering facilities.

The rooms throughout were a little tired and need some upgrading. It was cold over most of the weekend and I thought putting the heating and fire on would have been a nice gesture for our arrival. In fact we battled to light the fire with the firewood supplied and I had to nip down to the supermarket to buy firelighters and new wood.

The breakfast which is served accross the road in the Burgundy restaurant is excellent and offers a wide variety to suit all tastes.

Pity about the accommodation, we both thought it needed sprucing up somewhat and was expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeBurgundy, Manager at Auberge Burgundy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't satisfactory. We are currently renovating the rooms at the Auberge, but because we cannot close the entire guesthouse to do so, we have to do it sectionally and therefore the renovations will only be complete sometime next year. Concerning the fireplace, reception has plenty of wood as well as fire-lighters, if you had asked us to light a fire for you we would have done so with pleasure. We sincerely regret any shortcomings you may have experienced and hope you will re-visit the Auberge in future to see the changes.

Kind regards,
Auberge Burgundy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
0.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.7 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: €91 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing