We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from the 20th January. I had booked a deluxe sea facing room and the room we got was really lovely and all that I was expecting. The bathroom was a little ordinary but still very nice. The attention and friendliness from all the staff was superb. We celebrated our anniversay by eating in the Pavillion restaurant. Although the food that we did get was very nicely presented and I guess if you are really into Nouvelle Cusine it would be ok and it was very tasty but we felt that unless you ate all three courses (and we are not big eaters!!!!) you would be hungry. We were dissapointed with that restaurant. The breakfast however, was excellent. The location is excellent and the sea walk must be fantastic during whale season. We would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Sea facing are lovely but avoid the ones facing west as there is a night club in the next block and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
I am delighted that you had such a memorable time at The Marine. I apologise however that The Pavilion Restaurant did not quite meet your expectations. Next time you visit I gaurantee that we will enhance your experience.
You are quite right in saying that the cliff path walk is excellent. Especially during the whale season.
Hope to see you back soon
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    137
    59
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
419
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Marine lived up to all our expectations over our four days stay in January. Great Location,Excellent Restaurants and very friendly and efficient staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnchristinewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear John
What a pleasure it was to have you at The Marine.
I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to our sunny shores in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This review is about a lunch in the Seafood Restaurant and not about staying at the hotel and using its principal restaurant.

The lunch can be selected from a table d'hote menu and costs R195 for two courses and R240 for three courses. A la carte is available at a price!

There were four of us and two enjoyed the meal and two did not. The two who did not selected a starter (reasonable) and a main course (rich fish and chips) which was considered to be an absolute rip-off. For the two who did enjoy their food had the seafood linguine as the main course.

The wine list is comprehensive as one would expect for such an establishment but it comes at a heavy price.

Overall, very expensive, not memorable in a good way and never again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert312663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Robert

I apologise that you did not enjoy your meal at our Seafood restaurant even though your friends did.
Could you please elaborate if it was just the price of the meal that disappointed you or if there other factors involved.
We at The Marine strive for service excellence and I would very much like the oppurtunity to rectify any mistakes made

Yours Sincerely
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Having eaten fish (but not shellfish, if the menu is to be believed) in the Seafood Restaurant, had the unmistakable allergic reaction to shellfish . The hotel manager, Hamish, denied there could be possibly be mixing of fish and shellfish during meal preparation in such a well-run establishment. Hmmm - can't recommend the restaurant or the hotel - you can do better elsewhere in Hermanus.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Madam
Shellfish poisoning is a serious affliction. One not to be dealt with lightly. As previously stated, we at The Marine are very aware of seafood allergies due to their serious nature and follow stringent regulations in ensuring that guests needs are looked after and people with allergies are well catered for.

Could you please elaborate on any other poor experience that you may have recieved so it may be rectified.

Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almelo
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The locations of the hotel is fantastic. From the hotel you can see the whales if you are lucky.
Beautiful rooms and nice restaurants. Maybe more to the taste of older people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
The views of Walker Bay are indeed spectacular, especially during our whale season.

I hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing