We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
232
165
106
44
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
165
106
44
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterside grill cucina restaurant beautiful hotel garden route whale watching rooms are huge george airport main building herolds bay south africa cape town spent nights top class a wonderful stay golf pity estate
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Oubaai is a big hotel with all the facilities and the real attraction for me was the big open space and the facilities on offer. Great gym, great golf and lovely hiking. Magnificent setting but you do have to drive 5 minutes to get to a beach. The hotel offers shuttles for this. I was not overly impressed with the food for a five star hotel although the buffet breakfast was very good. The other restaurant we’re mediocre The room we had was well appointed with a view of the ocean. However you are a long way from the sea and you cannot hear or smell it. The rooms were well serviced and the staff are pleasant and helpful. I did not get to use the Spa as it was fully booked but it looked impressive. I would stay here again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank fiona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

There are some spectacular hotels in the Western Cape and the Oubaai Hotel is no different. Beautiful rooms with large bathrooms and well equipped make it easy to feel at home, away from home. Free wifi is always good.

My only regret is not staying long enough to get on the golf course.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a glorious morning view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

On our Garden Route Honeymoon we visited several hotels and resorts - some more affordable and basic than Oubaai, as well as other considerably more expensive 5 star resorts. From all our collective experiences, Oubaai Golf Resort was by far the most spectacular. The amazing breakfast, service, rooms, resort, restaurant and spa, even under critical examination could not be faulted in any way. Every element on every dish were near the best we've ever had - even the lonely chair in the corner of our suite was one of the most comfortable ever. We were especially amazed at the friendliness and willingness of the staff to accommodate our every need and out of all the hotels we visited, we were saddest to leave Oubaai Golf Resort - they really make you feel like a valued family member. I can do nothing more than assume that individuals wining about a poor experience at Oubaai are probably depressed and negative by nature. I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Massive 3rd floor suites
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jpotgieter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Good rooms but horrible service. You almost have to beg the staff to smile! The service is appalling for the hotel of this price. We needed an iron for our clothes and had to call 4 times to request this (it took about 3 hours to come in the end). The rooms were not cleaned properly and the staff at the breakfast place were unfriendly. All that said we booked the Executive Room which has access to a lounge with some light snacks but yet the service was terrible.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Approximately 15 mins from George airport is the Oubaai Hotel in the middle of the Oubaai Golf Estate. A large hotel with very spacious rooms - very comfortable. I found the service rather slow (reception and room service) The pool area is well designed with showers, toilets and a bar/food counter. The estate is enormous with walks around the golf course etc. Breakfasts are adequate, although I found the lunches and dinners rather overpriced.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, sea facing
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ESP-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews