We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
240
168
113
47
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
168
113
47
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterside grill cucina restaurant beautiful hotel hyatt regency whale watching garden route george airport kids club rooms are large main building herolds bay south africa cape town top class golf pity estate
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

I had high hopes and high expectations after hearing friends rave about this hotel. When shown my room and walking in the reception , I was very impressed. The size of the rooms were the biggest I've ever stayed in , and finished very smartly. The hotel and its features as well as location was brilliant.

Sadly, these fantastic elements were tarnished by the unfriendly staff , lack of attention to detail with customer service and the sub-par facilities. The biggest issue was the breakfast : the staff were so evidently friendly to certain groups of people. They also charge you for espresso products such as Cuppacinos ?! that was disgusting. Ive stayed at much cheaper hotels and not even they had the audacity to charge me for a cuppacino when I've already paid for an all-inclusive breakfast.

Aside from the gym , they charged us to use any other facilities as well. The kids club room , table tennis , squash courts , tennis courts etc were all billable.

Room tip: Sea facing is not worth the extra cost. stay as close to reception as possible.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mzh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel has so much potential. It is beautiful and clean, but the service is below standard. You almost get a sense that the hotel is short of staff. Breakfast service is slow, porters battle to keep up with guest needs and attention to detail is missed due to unavailability of hands on deck. Professionalism of staff can also at times improve. This hotel has so much potential, but it’s service needs a step up!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrancoisedP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Although in a beautiful setting, the hotel has not been well maintained and the service leaves much to be desired.

The staff look like they are doing you a favour to assist you, and there's definitely no going the extra mile here.

Breakfast has a decent selection but the quality of food can be vastly improved.

We had a function in the conference room and the catering was rather poor. Despite a hefty charge. The lamb spit was not well cooked and the meat looked like it was hacked. We also ran out of meat half way through.

Liquor prices are also exorbitant.

Despite booking the banquet venue until 12, before 11 we were told to turn down the music. This is unacceptable considering when the venue was booked we specifically asked about music times as we always like a good dance.

If you are considering a function here, I would find an alternative with better service and food quality.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JMA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Excellent and speedy check in was indicative of most of the staff here except for the food and beverage side of things.
We were pleased with our lovely room. It was spacious and had a small balcony overlooking the ocean.
In a small lounge area there were free wine and canopies each evening for an hour or two, a nice touch we thought.
Sports facilities aside from the large golf course included tennis and squash courts plus a table tennis table and a gym.
We used the tennis court, which was free to use but disappointingly we were charged £8 to hire 3 balls and a couple of distorted old racquets to play with. Mean we thought.
The Spa was reasonably priced, I had an excellent hours hot stone massage for around £35 and it was very good.
There's a nice outdoor pool area plus a further outdoor pool at the gym location.
We eat at the onsite restaurant overlooking the water on both nights of our stay with mixed results.
The first night was great, good service & good food served promptly by a happy friendly waitress.
However the second evening was the opposite as far as service was concerned, it took an age for the lady to take the order. An age to deliver our drinks and the same for the food. You couldn't believe it was the same restaurant. We wished we had requested the waitress we'd had the previous evening.
Breakfast was also a bit of a disaster. It is taken in the other restaurant, downstairs in the main hotel building. Firstly neither of the 2 ladies at the front desk take you to a table, they just take your room number, why it takes 2 to do this baffles me. It's no big deal except often there aren't any clean table available. Well on both the mornings we were there that was the case. Which means you wander around like a lemon for a while looking for a clean table. When we did find one, it had to be a dirty one as there wasn't any clean ones, we had to ask to have it cleared, we then had to ask repeatedly to get coffees or tea. There just doesn't seem to be any active management in either of the restaurants.
Overall breakfast wasn’t on par with the other offerings of the resort and really lets the place down.
For what we paid we thought this was good value, however with some work on the restaurant side of things it could be a lot better.
I'd just about recommend it but it needs some work on the food service side.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 34769pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel is like a ghost town. The only people walking in and out of the spa are those told it's fully booked, although no one having treatments and it's empty! Tried to take a bath to find yellow water. Ate at Waterside grill.. steak tasteless.. other restaurants were empty. mini bar fridge is empty, phone in room didn't work. Waited 40 mins for luggage to be delivered to the room. For a luxury hotel it's management need training.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews