We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, "Halal-House" run by a Muslim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Light Country House
Ranked #9 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Nice B&B-House in a quiet surrounding, the suites are big and have a balcony, car parking in front of house, easy to reach
The ownership has changes approx. a year ago. The place is now run by a muslim. He does a good job and is very friendly and helpful but you have to be aware, that there is no alcohol on the site. And of course, no bacon for breakfast.
If you don't mind living in a sober place in the middle of the winelands then the Southern Light Country House is a good place to stay. But it is definitely not a 4 star Location.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beat Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2016

This is a beautiful house in a wonderful part of South Africa. Marina is a hospitable, warm and caring host, without being overbearing.
Excellent facilities, an extensive top-notch breakfast - I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The guest house itself is truely beautiful and we would definately love to stay there again.
I made the booking under the impression that there was an Aircon in the room. After checking in we discovered that there wasnt one. When I queried it I was told that the house was fully booked and nothing could be done.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 79larsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Very poor, no alcohol on site, room dark and old fashioned, not enough shelf space around wash basin, fan not working, poor lighting, dangerous sockets needs more mirrors to make up, room just a hell hole, only good thing was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 564adrianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We had a great vacation start for our South Africa trip. Our room was very nice and the garden well maintained.
Marina & her staff was very friendly and helpful. If you like to stay in Constanzia, we can recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank piafrancoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
8 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
511 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
439 reviews
2.3 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
2.3 km away
Constantia White Lodge
Constantia White Lodge
#7 of 40 in Constantia
159 reviews
4.1 km away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Light Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Light Country House

Address: 24 Hohenort Avenue, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: €92 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Light Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Light Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Light Country House Constantia, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing