We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
177
37
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
37
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose bar cape town a popular place ricotta pancakes complimentary breakfast great decor fillet steak hotel is lovely staff were incredible lovely lunch white wine rooms are huge pool area a special place sun loungers attention to detail old world
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

for more than USD 500,- per night/room nothing to offer ; compared to other 5 Star Hotels poor ;
Bar was closed when we staying there ; room rate includes breakfast but you have to pay for water !? ;
pool is dirty , noisy , full of swimming bees ;

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ingo551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm glad we were able to resolve your points mentioned at the hotel before your departure.

Kind regards

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

The Blanco restaurant is part of the Alphen Hotel. The whole set up is very good. We had lunch there, sitting outside in a very elegant restaurant, outside a lovely looking old building in beautiful grounds. The food was tasty and well presented. The Graff white wine was a pleasure. The toilets inside the hotel were perfect. All our party loved the occasion, and I would definately recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank christopherjonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review; we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at blanko. It's always so lovely sitting under the trees on a warm Cape day.

See you again soon

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Relaxed lunch outside La Belle food and service was great (excellent marinaded chicken and lemon cous cous,spinach hummus, mussels and rack of lamb) only downside was the hideous piped music which was not needed!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kath O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us at la Belle Bistro and I thank you for your feedback regarding the music.

We hope to see you again soon

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I expected a lot more from this hotel for how much it cost. From the pictures online the hotel looks really cool with great decor but it was actually quite tacky with some really strange interiors. A few pro's and cons below:
+ great location, Constantia is beautiful
+ was clearly a popular place for a long lunch
+ pool bar area is pretty
+ good breakfast

- some of the areas felt quite old and tatty, like they had upgraded the places that the public see but note the guests
- expensive for what it is
- room wasn't very clean, a lot of dust

For the money i would recommend staying elsewhere and coming here for a evening drink or weekend lunch

Room Tip: Suites are large but feel inpersonal.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zoesfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us, we do appreciate your detailed feedback and I have discussed your comments with my team.

Regards

Hannalie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

a beautiful and calm spot in a serene setting and an ideal base to explore the cape region; relaxed ambiance with everything one needs (but without the superfluous gimmicks), friendly and helpful staff – all in all very much recommended

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 681frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Alphen and thank you for complimenting our staff.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Cape.

Regards

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews