We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of La Colombe

La Colombe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: La Colombe, one of Cape Town's most well-loved and awarded restaurants. Contemporary French-meets-Asian fine dining.
Reviewed 13 April 2019

My family and I had an amazing experience at this restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and service was excellent. We were a family of five and all enjoyed it very much. The way food was served was a work of art and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 404 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our evening at LC having been recommended 3 establishments by local friends and managing to secure a reservation at this one, with the 2nd being fully booked and the 3rd being a fair distance out of the city.

Firstly the drive up to the restaurant and the welcome at the door including a delightful appetiser made a wonderful first impression. Restaurant decor was simple and elegant and one would imagine the surroundings and view must be spectacular during the day or just before sunset.

Staff were well trained and knowledgeable on any questions we had.
We selected the gourmand (full) tasting menu. It started well with both the snack box and tuna surprise being delicious and full of wonderful Asian flavours. The Malay inspired quail and langoustine starter was also beautifully cooked and presented. However from there on the service felt rushed that we had to ask for a break and the dishes which followed lacked in the flavour sensations and started to feel a bit one dimensional with no surprises/elevation to the palate.
Dessert courses were uninspiring. Cheese board did not work and the banana option was ok. All dishes however were stunning in presentation.

We really wanted to love the experience and the food but we left feeling simply disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank michellebH9872BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

We were a group of 5 colleagues gathering to bid farewell to a Danish couple. The drive up into the misty heights to reach the restaurant was a mini adventure at night so be cautious. The reception on entering was warm and friendly. Immediately one is introduced and initiated into their concept of Nuevo Cuisine with a ‘Gooseberry ‘ palate cleaner. The menu was most interesting and we chose different starters , mains and desserts. Our Danish couple opted for the ‘blind tasting’ and had bouquet of the Cape winelands to savior.
The various dishes were explained as they were served and to summarize they were all absolutely amazing . The cacophony of flavors of each serving needs to be experienced and only appreciated with a palate cleaning between dishes.. and yes there was one minor issue..the waiters needed to be less rushed in their well versed introductions .. as a patron we are overwhelmed and our senses are in a riot .

I will definitely return.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank alphadentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2019 via mobile

This is restaurant we booked on-line from Canada after reading well deserved rave reviews.

From the moment we walked into this restaurant our experience was unforgettable. The food was delicious and the wines were amazing - presentation at service impeccable.

From the palate cleanser nestled on a mossy tree-branch as we entered the dining room, through the tongue in cheek ‘tinned tuna’ appetizer and on to our mains and desert, every dish was inventive and filled with interesting juxtaposition of flavours. All complimented with a local wine that enhanced the tastes.

We’re glad we found this world-class set of experiences.

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

Came here 2 years ago and since then the game has been stepped up, if thats possible. Blown away by every course and we had the reduced menu. Everything is top class, flavours presentation and staff. Gary our waiter was amazing. It was my Husbands 60th birthday and waiting on the beautiful linen table cloth was a box of beautiful hand made chocs. I'm not going to go through what we ate, just go, it will blow your senses. Thanks again.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Archee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed La Colombe also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.