We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal and home town songs!”
Review of Pigalle Restaurant

Pigalle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Well-known as the perfect venue for a stylish evening out, we offer guests live entertainment from our dance floor alongside superb dinner courses. Renowned for our fresh seafood and Chalmar steak, our menu comprises of classic dishes with a subtle Portuguese flair. Including a spacious cigar lounge and private dining room our venue is versatile as well as suitable for private functions.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The meal and servers were AMAZING! A must have is the prawns but everything on the menu that came out for others to eat looked amazing. I had dinner with my mom as we visited Cape town. It was so nice to hear the live band and then to add to the great atmosphere the live band sang Georgia on my mind which was great to hear as I am an Atlanta native and a true GA peach. The manager was very helpful and greeted all customers. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joybwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello Joy,

It is always such a pleasure to have internationals in on their travels when visiting Cape Town.

Our live band is fairly unique in this setting in Cape Town and we certainly love rekindling memories for our guests through our oldies playlist!

Thank you so much for your awesome review - hope to see you again on your next vacation.


Kind regards,
The Pigalle Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Really a great place. What a great night. Top Class and excellent service all and a big thanks to John. Food excellent too.

Thank Edwardfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello Edward,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review - we will definitely pass your kind words on to John regarding his service.




Kind regards,
The Pigalle Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

A most rewarding experience. Seafood to die for. The seafood platter for two was sublime. Nice to see a restaurant that has a whisky club. Entrees were delicious. The Jazz band played softly in the background and as the night progressed more and more people got up to dance. By the end of the night the dance floor was full. An overall fantastic experience. Will definitely go back and happy to recommend. Well done Mynhardt.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bazilm271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello Bazil,

Thank you for your review - our seafood is most definitely our speciality!

The whiskey Keep is available for loyal guests who would like to keep a bottle of Johnny Walker for a period of six months for a fee that varies dependant on the bottle you choose. For further information please contact the managers directly on 021 421 4848.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Kind regards,
The Pigalle Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

When we first walked in to Pigalle we thought it was a bit guady and very large for Capetown standards.
We decided to stay anyway and, we were glad we did.

The owner will great you at the door and help you with seating and the menu.
The food was delicious and the service was also excellent.
Surprisingly, the prices were reasonable as well.
I highly recommend Pigalle.

Enjoy !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello Joe,

Yes, we definitely have an old school style all of our own!

Thank you so much for staying on to experience our beautiful restaurant and thank you so much for the review!


Kind regards,
The Pigalle Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely restaurant. Old school with jazz quartet and dance floor during dinner. Service was excellent. Had the line fish (catch of the day) with black mussels and scallops in a Mozambique-inspired sauce. Fabulous. Prices very reasonable. Worth a visit when in Cape Town.
Saw other review about credit card when making reservations. Fellow traveler on my tour ran into same problem. Just be careful. Lots of credit card fraud in this country.

Thank RITA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello Rita,

Thank you so much for your review.

With regard to the credit card payment we personally make sure that credit card details are kept private and are destroyed after the meal by our very competent events department. We are very sensitive to your privacy and are also very aware of the things that could go wrong should your details end up in the wrong hands.

From our side we too are having to protect our business from guests unwilling to make a short phonecall to cancel bookings in sufficient timing for us to allow other diners to take their place - to keep rates reasonable we do our best to accommodate all reservations and certainly appreciate and understand a cancellation done in good timing.

Thanks again for the review -
The Pigalle Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pigalle Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pigalle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing