We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
391
95
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
95
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbo kaaprooftop terracefresh muffinscall to prayertable mountaineggs made to orderother guestsevery morningwalking distance to long streetbreakfast roomrooms are smallgreenmarket squaresouth africathe location is perfectexplore cape townfelt very safegreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We were able to stay at La Rose for 8 nights and were surprised by our friendly host Yoann and delighted by our pleasant room, the Mandela Room, which was very large. The breakfasts were excellent, fresh baked muffins and bread, fresh fruit and juice, and eggs to order. The location is close to everything you want to visit in Cape Town. We had read the Trip advisor reviews, but it was better than any of the reviews and exceeded our expectation. Yoann was helpful in every way and a valuable source of information. If you can get a room during your visit to Cape Town you will be one of the lucky ones who have stayed at La Rose!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We arrived late at night after flying forEVER and getting sick from the landing and what a great welcome. We hadn't time to get any rand and were ready to pay with US dollars when the owner came out to greet us and didn't hesitate to save us from being paying near double and paid our taxi driver. (We just repaid him when we checked out.)

We had a short briefing about the place and were told we'd get more information about what to do (and not) at breakfast the following day. He followed through in every way. We learned how to stay safe in Cape Town.

Breakfast was healthy and fantastic. The breakfast area is a delight to the eyes as well. Be sure to check out the art and plants all around. The attention to detail is incredible.

We were only there for one night, but I would certainly recommend from what we encountered.

The room was quite small, but met our needs. It's a B&B in a good location, so space would be at a premium. There is a safe in the room and we were not bothered by noise. We were offered to utilize the common area for general drink/snack needs.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namgah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Inn is well located, just a few blocks from downtown and perhaps a 25 minute walk from the waterfront. Breakfasts were very good, and a great opportunity to meet other guests and get advice for the day. Staff was absolutely lovely.

We parked out in front and had no problems. And didn't hesitate to walk downtown at night because of the security that owner and other hotel owners have arranged.

Bo Kaap neighborhood is very pretty with the brightly colored houses. Makes a great base.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank KayakDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Nice location and environment. The staff is very friendly. Don't stay in the Cherry room, it's close of the breakfast room and you w'll wake up with the noise of people eating and talking. The owner can help you in book some tours around Cape Town.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Cherry room, it's close of the breakfast room and you w'll wake up with the noise of people eating and talking.
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jo_od715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Great location with outstanding value for money (clean, quiet and nicely decorated) with very friendly and helpful owner and staff. The breakfast room with the tree inside is perfect for the morning, and the rooftop ideal in the evening. A real gem in cape town.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews