We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
395
96
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
96
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bo kaap call to prayer fresh muffins table mountain eggs made to order other guests every morning walking distance to long street breakfast room b and b rooms are small greenmarket square south africa explore cape town felt very safe great hosts a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The bnb is 3 minutes away from the city center. The rooms are simple but cosy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is fantastic and Yohann is a very friendly guy. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank MarcBcn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a very good B&B in an ideal location close to (but not in) the center of Cape Town. What really makes it outstanding is the owner, Yoann, who is incredibly welcoming. He sits down with the guests every day at breakfast to provide advice and discuss plans. It feels more like staying with friends than staying at a B&B. As a solo traveller, I'd say I appreciated the company as much as the helpful advice.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, and breakfast is good, with lots of good fruit even in winter. There's also a very nice roof terrace, with a view over the city centre over to Table Mountain. A perfect place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The thing that really stands out with La Rose B&B is the helpfulness of the owner. He is always present at breakfast to discuss plans of the guests and provide advise and weather forecasts. He knows a lot about all places to go in Cape Town and has interesting stories to tell as well.

We were in the Oriental room, which was clean and in good state. The excellent shower deserves special mention. There is a European power socket and free wifi, both very useful. The room also has a kettle and coffee/tea. Some space in the bathroom to put bathroom stuff on would have been nice though.

The main disadvantage is noise, as we could clearly hear the call for the morning prayer from the mosque opposite the street. Noise from the breakfast room is also heard.

Breakfast is very good. We had fruit salad, freshly baked muffins and scrambled eggs, but there was more to choose from.

The location is very good, with both the Waterfront and the city centre close by. It is close to the western edge of the safe zone where one can walk after sunset. Because the hotel has it's own night guard for guest cars on the corner with Hout Street, one can safely walk to the city centre through that street. From Buitengracht eastwards there are guards everywhere.

In sum this hotel is a very good choice except maybe for light sleepers. We would certainly go here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our experience at La Rose was amazing. Yoan and his wife did an excellent job of accomodation a room change midway thru our stay, and were exceptionally helpful in helping us catch our bus on short notice at the end of our trip. Yoan's breakfasts were amazing - fresh bread, local honey, home cooked eggs and delicious coffee every mroning. The rooftop patio was a treat, although we didn't spend as much time there as we would have liked. The B&B is in a good location, however ask for a route when walking to the waterfront, as it took us several unsuccessful attempts at finding a safe and direct route there. Also note that weekends have an eerie feel to them in the city (outside of the waterfront) - it's slightly deserted and feels a bit unsafe.

All in all, this is probably one of the best B&B's or accomodations i've ever stayed in and I'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Cape Town. Thanks Yoan!

Room Tip: The blue room is VERY small. We had originally booked that one and had to switch to a bigger one.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanSofieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a great stay at La Rose. Yoan is very helpfull and has great tips on what to see in Capetown and the surrounding areas. He and his wife joined everybody at breakfast too hear our plans for that day. We really felt at home here. The hotel is situated in the colourfull Bo-Kaap and Longstreet is about a 10 minute walk at most.
Our room was a bit small, but it is very clean and we're only in our rooms to sleep so we didn't mind that much. The hotel has a cool rooftop terrace with a great view of Table mountain.
Breakfast was good. Had the famous eggs, and they deserve the fame!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews