We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,553)
Filter reviews
1,553 results
Traveller rating
1,446
91
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,446
91
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar kloof street table mountain our honeymoon little touches honor bar mobile phone millers thumb home away from home south africa camps bay restaurant recommendations communal areas stay in cape town every evening car hire restaurants within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 1,553 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

From the moment we walked in the door The Derwent House felt like home. Michael, Luca, Dorcas, Xolani, Florence, Mash.... the list goes on and on. The staff was attentive, professional friendly, and on hand 24 hours a day for whatever was needed. They were able to provide a most memorable experience for 15 Americans who will always remember their first trip to Cape Town. The property and rooms were perfect and fit our needs to a tee. We loved getting together every morning for breakfast and downloading with one another in the evening over one of Flo's sweet delights.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an authentic, personal lodging experience in Cape Town.

Room tip: All of the rooms are great and offer something different
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nec1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We're all still talking about you guys to this day, especially Florence, who reminisces daily about everyone popping into the kitchen to ask "what's in the oven for tea today " (she keeps asking when you'll all be back!). It was such a huge pleasure to host you for your astonishing family gathering here in Cape Town -- and I'd say in this case, it's we who felt like we became a part of your family . . . Derwent House was so quiet when you'd gone! Your collective joy, energy and enthusiasm was inspiring and it was truly wonderful to host all of you for this visit.

I know it won't be the last time we see you, whether all together or separately, but know that you are missed and most welcome any time! Thanks so much for your generous words -- it really means a lot to the team.

We're looking forward to the next visit/s . . .

Sunny greetings from all of us at Derwent House (and a special hello from Flo),

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

It was the third stay in the wonderfully decorated hotel in the last 14 months and the best end of a holiday in South Africa. The owners Anahid and Arnim are wonderful hosts. To the team, Luca the senior, Michael, Mash and all the others where I forgot the names unfortunately, a big thank you. There are only a few hotels where you have such a warm contact with the staff in the hotel. A laugh in the morning, in the evening, which can make the day more beautiful. Our return is safe .....

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Hans-Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

There are many guests who become friends, and then there are those who just become part of the family -- you know who you are , Hans-Werner L. We love having you here every time and can't wait for the next visit . . . Cape Town waits for you, as does every single member of the Derwent team. (We'll get you onto Uber yet!)

When the Hamburg winter gets you down . . .

See you soon,

Anahid, Armin, Luca, Michael, Xolani and Mash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Sometimes you find great places to stop purely by chance, this was one of those times......unable to get a room in the main hotel we decided to book their apartment nearby and we are glad we did. The high level of facilities and comfort together with an amazing welcome basket ( including wine) set us on the way for a great three days in Cape Town.
The hotel couldn’t do enough to make our stay enjoyable, the staff are amazing and the breakfast was superb. Thanks Derwent House we will be back.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you, Pete D, for your generous commendation -- we're delighted that our self-catering apartment worked so well for you. Indeed, many experienced travellers appreciate the greater space and independence the apartment affords, while still having access to all the services and facilities of the hotel next door.

Looking forward to your coming back and testing us: I'm sure there's more we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Thanks again for sharing your experience in this forum; it's really much appreciated.

On behalf of the whole team,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Once again I have traveled to SA and was in Cape Town. Once again I chose Derwent House and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay feeling right at home. A special thank you to Anahid for pointing to me the concert of Ismaël Lo at the Botanical gardens, it was simply fantastic! There are concerts every Sunday late afternoon, it is a must! Everything was just perfect and easy, staff attentive and friendly as always, breakfast an absolute must! Free unlimited fast fibre WiFi everywhere is very convenient! Special note about the "Save the Rhino" campaign : a little stuffed rhino toy on beds as well as bracelets at reception are on sale, all proceeds go to "Save the Rhino", those animals are terribly endangered. Well done Derwent House for that! The communal Honesty bar is a nice idea so guests can enjoy having a drink and exchanging views or tips! Just love the area, easy to walk around. Water: please help all hotels in Cape Town by caring about water, the region did not get enough rain in winter so be very responsible with water :-). Will be back for sure!

Room tip: If available, ask for a room with Table Mountain view, all rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FabienneBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Merci, FabienneBC! We love having you with us--seems like Cape Town really is your town. What good luck that we found Ismail Lo by chance for you at Kirstenbosch! The summer concert series in the gardens is truly a wonderful experience, especially when you take our picnic rucksack filled with goodies along and plant yourself on the grass like a local . . .

Thank you also for lending such whole-hearted support to our water conservation initiatives (your bucket was always full!) as well as our rhino protection fund-raising campaign -- hope your relatives and friends enjoy the "crash" of rhinos you took home with you (yes, that really is the collective noun for rhinos) as well as all the bracelets. Their flesh-and-blood cousins that are so terribly endangered thank you profoundly, as do we.

We miss your infectious sunny spirit around the house, bringing guests together over a bottle of local bubbly or craft beer: that's what our self-serve area and Honesty bar is all about, so it's wonderful to see people enjoying it.

We're all looking forward to your next visit for sure!

From all of us,

Anahid & Armin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

The Derwent House was the PERFECT place to stay for our family and friends group trip to Cape Town. The staff was so warm, friendly, extremely helpful and very inviting. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was WONDERFUL!! and the afternoon goodies are such a special touch. We felt at home from the moment we were greeted at the door until the time we sadly had to say goodbye. We have already booked our return trip. My entire group LOVED LOVED LOVED the Derwent House. Thanks so much for making our stay very special and memorable!!

Room tip: All rooms were very nice!! I especially enjoyed room #3 which overlooked the pool area.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank melinajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

What more could we ask than "Perfect," melinajohnson -- wow, thanks so much for this amazing accolade. I'll admit that we were unsure what to expect from your big extended family group: and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. We absolutely loved having you and are so touched that you felt at home and well-cared for. Derwent House truly felt like a family home for the week of your stay, and without exception, the entire team felt as though we were temporarily adopted into your family!

Thank you so much for entrusting us with looking after you on this occasion -- and for your return booking! We're looking forward to a repeat -- but will do our best to offer you an even better Derwent experience next time.

Wishing you all, all our very best wishes from Cape Town,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews