We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and thoughtfulness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

If you are a first timer to South Africa, I can’t recommend this enough. Great service even before we arrived with recommendations, bookings and everything in between. It continued when we arrived and sitting in a nice central location at a reasonable price this was so worth it.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vidale_Rodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well, we hope you'll be back for a second time, Vidale_Rodi . . . Very glad that we were able to assist with your pre-arrival arrangements: we believe that personalised service, tips and advice are the best reasons to choose a boutique hotel like ours', so take this very seriously.

I'm so pleased that you felt comfortable and happy with our location and value. Thanks for your great review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best from the entire team -- and our very best wishes for the holidays,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

From the moment we walked in the door The Derwent House felt like home. Michael, Luca, Dorcas, Xolani, Florence, Mash.... the list goes on and on. The staff was attentive, professional friendly, and on hand 24 hours a day for whatever was needed. They were able to provide a most memorable experience for 15 Americans who will always remember their first trip to Cape Town. The property and rooms were perfect and fit our needs to a tee. We loved getting together every morning for breakfast and downloading with one another in the evening over one of Flo's sweet delights.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an authentic, personal lodging experience in Cape Town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and offer something different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nec1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We're all still talking about you guys to this day, especially Florence, who reminisces daily about everyone popping into the kitchen to ask "what's in the oven for tea today " (she keeps asking when you'll all be back!). It was such a huge pleasure to host you for your astonishing family gathering here in Cape Town -- and I'd say in this case, it's we who felt like we became a part of your family . . . Derwent House was so quiet when you'd gone! Your collective joy, energy and enthusiasm was inspiring and it was truly wonderful to host all of you for this visit.

I know it won't be the last time we see you, whether all together or separately, but know that you are missed and most welcome any time! Thanks so much for your generous words -- it really means a lot to the team.

We're looking forward to the next visit/s . . .

Sunny greetings from all of us at Derwent House (and a special hello from Flo),

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

It was the third stay in the wonderfully decorated hotel in the last 14 months and the best end of a holiday in South Africa. The owners Anahid and Arnim are wonderful hosts. To the team, Luca the senior, Michael, Mash and all the others where I forgot the names unfortunately, a big thank you. There are only a few hotels where you have such a warm contact with the staff in the hotel. A laugh in the morning, in the evening, which can make the day more beautiful. Our return is safe .....

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hans-Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

There are many guests who become friends, and then there are those who just become part of the family -- you know who you are , Hans-Werner L. We love having you here every time and can't wait for the next visit . . . Cape Town waits for you, as does every single member of the Derwent team. (We'll get you onto Uber yet!)

When the Hamburg winter gets you down . . .

See you soon,

Anahid, Armin, Luca, Michael, Xolani and Mash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Sometimes you find great places to stop purely by chance, this was one of those times......unable to get a room in the main hotel we decided to book their apartment nearby and we are glad we did. The high level of facilities and comfort together with an amazing welcome basket ( including wine) set us on the way for a great three days in Cape Town.
The hotel couldn’t do enough to make our stay enjoyable, the staff are amazing and the breakfast was superb. Thanks Derwent House we will be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you, Pete D, for your generous commendation -- we're delighted that our self-catering apartment worked so well for you. Indeed, many experienced travellers appreciate the greater space and independence the apartment affords, while still having access to all the services and facilities of the hotel next door.

Looking forward to your coming back and testing us: I'm sure there's more we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Thanks again for sharing your experience in this forum; it's really much appreciated.

On behalf of the whole team,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Once again I have traveled to SA and was in Cape Town. Once again I chose Derwent House and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay feeling right at home. A special thank you to Anahid for pointing to me the concert of Ismaël Lo at the Botanical gardens, it was simply fantastic! There are concerts every Sunday late afternoon, it is a must! Everything was just perfect and easy, staff attentive and friendly as always, breakfast an absolute must! Free unlimited fast fibre WiFi everywhere is very convenient! Special note about the "Save the Rhino" campaign : a little stuffed rhino toy on beds as well as bracelets at reception are on sale, all proceeds go to "Save the Rhino", those animals are terribly endangered. Well done Derwent House for that! The communal Honesty bar is a nice idea so guests can enjoy having a drink and exchanging views or tips! Just love the area, easy to walk around. Water: please help all hotels in Cape Town by caring about water, the region did not get enough rain in winter so be very responsible with water :-). Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room with Table Mountain view, all rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabienneBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Merci, FabienneBC! We love having you with us--seems like Cape Town really is your town. What good luck that we found Ismail Lo by chance for you at Kirstenbosch! The summer concert series in the gardens is truly a wonderful experience, especially when you take our picnic rucksack filled with goodies along and plant yourself on the grass like a local . . .

Thank you also for lending such whole-hearted support to our water conservation initiatives (your bucket was always full!) as well as our rhino protection fund-raising campaign -- hope your relatives and friends enjoy the "crash" of rhinos you took home with you (yes, that really is the collective noun for rhinos) as well as all the bracelets. Their flesh-and-blood cousins that are so terribly endangered thank you profoundly, as do we.

We miss your infectious sunny spirit around the house, bringing guests together over a bottle of local bubbly or craft beer: that's what our self-serve area and Honesty bar is all about, so it's wonderful to see people enjoying it.

We're all looking forward to your next visit for sure!

From all of us,

Anahid & Armin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2.7 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,904 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,337 reviews
2.5 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
1.6 km away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €136 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing