We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$154
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Upperbloem(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$192
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveller rating
1,408
89
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
89
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barkloof streettable mountainpool and hot tubour honeymoonlittle touchesmobile phonehonor barmillers thumbhome away from homesouth africacamps bayrestaurant recommendationscommunal areasstay in cape townevery eveningrestaurants within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We have returned again to this fabulous place and it never fails to please! From the spectacular view of Table Mountain to the delicious afternoon cakes, it’s a real treat. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly team who take care of your every need. This time we loved the new ‘Handy Phone’ which can be adopted as your own during your stay. It’s so useful for calling cabs, navigating your way around, making calls - all for free! Do ask for advance reservations for some excellent local eateries (they get busy)
- we loved Ash, La Mouette and the continual favourite, Black Sheep. Get your daily exercise by walking down to the V&A Waterfront where there are many shops and restaurants plus the newest attraction, the MOCAA. You also have the luxury of being able to see, from your poolside lounger at Derwent House, whether the cable car up to The Table Mountain top is running. Take in the glorious beaches or make a trip further afield - all the info you need is available from hotel staff including guidebook and directions. In the evening, pre dinner drinks and snacks are available from the ‘honesty bar’. We will be returning and hope that you will too!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Regular guests are really our very best ambassadors -- and you're the ambassador of ambassadors, linda w! Thanks so much for your great recommendation, and especially for highlighting some of our recent innovations such as the complimentary handy smartphones for your use. Very happy that you found this so useful; we're one of only a few properties in South Africa to offer our guests this fabulous travel tool.

And not to worry: you know that we'll always keep you up to speed on the latest top wining and dining spots in town . . . we love to eat and drink like you do. It's a tough job, but somebody has to eat and drink their way around town to ensure that guests enjoy the very best the city has to offer #A&ATopTenTips!

Looking forward to your earliest return!

From the whole team, all our very best to you both,

Anahid & Armin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Incredibly nice interior design - in all areas such as the lobby, the breakfast area, the rooms and around the pool area, excellent location with proximity both to the city as well as to the table mountain, delicious breakfast - happy to come back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yusef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Danke, Yusef A -- and ahlan wa sahlan! We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the kind words: so pleased you felt comfortable in our vibrant African colours and were well-fed . . . we're waiting for your return visit.

On behalf of the whole team,

Anahid & Armin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Derwent House while we were in Cape Town. The staff were all amazing. They were very friendly and helpful. Lots of great suggestions and were able to answer any questions we had. They also helped us book a couple of things. The hotel itself was also very nice. The room we had was comfortable and fairly sizable. The weather wasn't great while we were in Cape Town so we really enjoyed the lounge area with the fireplace in the evenings. Our stay included breakfast which was excellent each morning. There were a variety of things served buffet style (fruits, breads, etc) and then a limited menu to order a main breakfast item as well. The hotel has an honesty bar stocked with a variety of Cape Town micro brews as well as some wine and spirit options. I would highly recommend staying here as we had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while in South Africa. The hotel itself is gorgeous - beautiful, bright art everywhere that creates a really cheerful atmosphere.

The room was lovely and equipped with everything we needed - including a mobile phone that we could use when out and about - extremely useful for getting around the city, using uber and making calls. What a simple, but amazing idea! There were wonderful touches like the complimentary, freshly baked cakes available to guests at all times!

The location is wonderful - near to Table Mountain and some great restaurants and bars. Walkable to some other attractions too, depending on what you want to see.

What really makes the hotel stand out is the staff, who really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay in their wonderful city. Recommendations, bookings, advice - nothing is too much trouble. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Patricia M,

Heartfelt thanks for your generous and comprehensive review: I'm delighted that the little touches made a difference to your stay with us, while of course, our wonderful staff are really what makes it all work so well at Derwent House. They really appreciate your recognition, as do we. Florence and Thando in particular are very proud of their baking, and we're happy that the home-baked afternoon cakes and pastries add to the homey feel . . . (We're working daily to expand the repertoire, so promise plenty new treats on your next visit!)

We've only recently introduced the handy smartphones in our rooms, so really pleased that you found it so useful -- no more data overcharges, or feeling stranded while travelling. Indeed, a simple idea that makes a big difference.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to share your experience here; we so appreciate it. Hope to see you or friends and family back again soon.

With sunny greetings from all of us,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Wow! We have travelled the world over and have never had such a wonderful experience in a hotel. The building, location was wonderful but it was the staff that made all the difference. We probably managed to ask every dumb question and had a myriad of needs and all were answered with a really joyful attitude. No, I’m not exaggerating - joyful. My husband and I stayed in the “Beautiful Room” with a deck off of one side and a patio off the other. During our visit we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and were unexpectedly greeted in our room with roses and champagne. The service continued on that level. The breakfasts off of a menu were superb and soup and treats awaited us after long days of sightseeing. We were referred to a wonderful driver, more like a guide, Nasief Jones (0828634923). Nasief combined with Uber took away the stress of driving. We stayed a week at Derwent House. This and the rest of our wonderful trip (beautiful safaris and Jo’Burg) were made possible by Dianne at Africa Direct USA. We have always planned our own trips in the past but Dianne was a magician at matching our wants and creating a DREAM trip.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marmot0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Marmot0022, Wow -- what an accolade: that we could deliver a great experience to such seasoned world travellers as the two of you is high praise indeed. You are so right, it is our fantastic team who make the difference every day. Feedback like yours' means the world to them, as it does to us, so thank you so much for this wonderful commendation. "Joyful" is so expressive!

Anniversaries are a big deal and we take them very seriously . . . of course you deserve roses and champagne for 25 years! Congratulations again!

As for Dianne, you are spot-on. It is rare to work with a travel intermediary who takes such personal interest and dedication into planning her guest's holidays, thoughtfully matching her clients needs and wishes with the right solutions -- she is truly a magician.

It was a pleasure to have you with us for this special trip. Don't wait until the 50th to come back and see us again!

With warmest greetings from all of us at Derwent House,

Anahid & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews