We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,534)
Filter reviews
1,534 results
Traveller rating
1,428
90
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,428
90
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar kloof street table mountain pool and hot tub our honeymoon little touches honor bar mobile phone millers thumb home away from home south africa booking restaurants camps bay communal areas stay in cape town every evening restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 1,534 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2009

What an amazing place. Immediately felt "at home". The attention to detail is evident in all areas. Carol. Jo & staff make you feel as if you are a house guest as opposed to a paying guest. Nothing was too much trouble. Local knowledge regarding directions, restaurants & tips on where to visit were greatly appreciated. We travel extensively, normally staying in 5 star generic hotels such as Mandarin Orientals etc, but can quite honestly say that Derwent house is in our top 3 of hotels to stay at & we would not hesitate in returning or recommending .

Others have already mentioned all the pluses of this hotel, but in our view, they are:
1. Location, 1/2 way up Table Mountain in quiet, safe area, but in walking distance of restauants.
2. Rooms, beautifully appointed, great beds, eco friendly products, flat screen satalite TV & DVD player, robes.
3. Reliable wifi available throughout hotel including use of laptop if you don't have one.
4. Guest kitchen, with very reasonaly priced honesty bar, complimentary cakes, a huge variety of coffees & teas, port & sherry.
5. Very quick & reasonably priced laundry on site.
6. Breakfast - everything you could wish for.
7. Pizza delivery can be arranged if too tired to go out on arrival or after a long day, excellent, as well.
8. The staff - genuinely friendly, professional & a great team who obviously love their jobs.
9. Jo & Carol - what can I say, they could teach alot of hoteliers a thing or two about hospitality.

We spent 4 weeks in total in South Africa, Jo & Carol certainly offered an amazing intoduction. We celebrated my birthday on this trip & the rest of SA certainly had alot to live up to.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

If you're looking for the perfect location, beautiful accomodation, unrivalled service etc. you can stop searching...you've found it!! From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, with the attention to detail and great local knowledge of what to do during your stay your every need is very well catered for.

As a rule we very rarely make a habit of going back to the same place twice as we like to see new places but on this occasion we are more than happy to make an exception!! In fact I have never written a Tripadvisor review (far too lazy) but really felt it it neccessary on this occasion....

Jo, Carol and the team were just fantastic - we felt like we were visiting old friends!...thats how much they make you feel at home. ( I just wish my house was as plush as this!)

PS. Try and get the room with the Jacuzzi as we could think of nothing better than chilling out before hitting long street after a long day seeing the great sights that Cape Town has to offer....trust me theres plenty!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazWhicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in Derwent House in November and it was fantastic. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of many bars and restaurants and the staff could not be more helpful. They very kindly arranged transfers for us from the airport to Franschhoek before we even stayed at Derwent House and we really appreciated the fact that they knew our names and asked us what we were up to each day and whether there was anything they could do to help.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, although i agree with the previous reviewer, they are on the small side, the lounge and pool area are big enough that there is no need to spend much time in your room anyway. The honesty bar, free tea, coffee and cakes make for a very relaxing stay. The breakfasts are also amazing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at Derwent House for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week trip through South Africa, and it was by far the best accomodation of our trip. Having already read reviews on Tripadvisor which lead us to booking this hotel, I was really pleasantly surprised to find that it was all that the other reviews stated as fantastic....and more.

The thing that really makes this hotel is the service, the staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be any trouble - they assisted us with booking a horse-back wine tour in Fraschoek, booked a table at an amazing hotel restaurant overlooking the sunset in Bantry Bay that we would never have found otherwise, as well as general tips on where to go, and best of all encouraging us to hire an AC Cobra for the day to cruise down the the Cape of Good Hope which we still havent quite got over yet! The small touches, for example free use of internet, complementary tea, coffee and cake, and leaving a chocolate and weather forcast for next day on your pillow at night just added to the personal and quality of service.

The hotel itself is modern and chic, yet it had a friendly and cosy feel which you sometimes don't get in boutique hotels. The breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruits, cereals, breads, cheese, and cooked breakfast choices. Our room was on the first floor, one of the lower priced rooms, but still had comfy double bed, modern clean bathroom with great power-shower and a view over the pool and table mountain.....what more could you want?!

The location is great - really central for getting to all the main sights in Cape Town. We had a hire care which I would recommend for Cape Town - we took a cab a few times down to the waterfront and out for meals so we could have a drink but there are plenty of restaurants right close to the hotel within walking distance. We found walking around the area felt safe - even the night of the world cup draw when there were thousands of people out on the streets there was an air of excitement and celebration and we saw absolutely no sign of any trouble.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family visiting Cape Town - it is friendly, central, immaculately clean and has to be the friendliest hotel Ive ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach-n-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We staeyd 2 non consecutuve nightsat the Derwent House in Novemeber, which I appreciate was abit of a non-standard request but that's the way the trip panned out. Any way, the staff helped us organise airport transfers, sorted out restaurants for us and helped with car hire and trip arrangements. They could not have been more hepful. The hotel itself is very pleasnt, excellent breakfast, lovely honesty bar facilities, comfortable living space, pretty pool surround and really friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews