We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would thoroughly recommend this perfect hotel to everyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Right from the outset, Carol and Jo at Derwent House Boutique Hotel were incredibly helpful. They couldn't accommodate my partner and I for the first few nights of our stay in Cape Town so immediately forwarded my enquiry to other small hotels in the area, such that I was contacted by other places with no further effort on my behalf: so very appreciated and yielded a fantastic few nights at Liberty Lodge in the next road from Derwent House. We really like the look of Derwent House from other people's comments on Trip Advisor, so were looking forward to arriving.

Our move to Derwent House was on 22nd Nov and we departed on 27th. We both absolutely loved, loved, loved Derwent House. I don't have a single negative thing to say about our stay there and MANY good things to report. Such a gorgeous place with so much to be really enthusiastic about. Carol and Jo themselves were incredibly helpful; it almost felt like you had private holiday organisers to hand. They booked restaurants, recommended places to go and even directed us to the final hotel we stayed in, in Franschhoek (in the wine region by Stellenbosch). Jo was really helpful in suggesting places for us to eat (she had already booked La Colombe - go there!! - and Baia in The Waterfront - expensive but amazing - for us before we even arrived in Cape Town). We were told to go and have afternoon tea at the Cape Nelson Hotel and that was the best £15 I ever spent with so cakes galore to die for! Every piece of advice was spot on.

The room we stayed in (room 4) was spacious, had a view of Table Mountain from the bath and was immaculately clean and well appointed. It felt like home after about 2 minutes. The staff were charming: from Vuyo who showed us around the hotel on our arrival and made us feel so welcome, to the gorgeous Bandile who was our chatty, smiley night porter, greeting us back from our night time wanderings.

The food was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. Breakfast was fruit and yoghurt, cereals, bread, full cookked breakfasts etc and a good range of drinks. The lovely little touches were the complementary tea and cakes you could help yourself to during the day. After a vast breakfast, coming back after a morning of exploring to a slice or carrot cake by the pool was extremely welcome!! The honesty bar was really well stocked (wine, beer, cider etc etc) and the kitchen area was squeaky clean.

The sunbathing area and pool were clean and comfortable, with masses of towels to hand and the living room area was well stocked with books and internet connection which proved quite handy. We felt totally safe in Tamboerskloof and the hotel was really well situated, being between Kloof Road (major restaurant road) and Kloof Nek Road (leading to the major roads out of Cape Town for our Journeys to Hermanus, Cape Point and the Winelands. The hotel was quiet and seemingly effortlessly efficient.

We would return to DHBL in a heartbeat. If anyone can find something to complain about in this fabulous, friendly hotel, I would be absolutely gob-smacked. Thanks so much to all the staff for a perfect holiday and all your help while we stayed with you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 944 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2009

What an amazing place. Immediately felt "at home". The attention to detail is evident in all areas. Carol. Jo & staff make you feel as if you are a house guest as opposed to a paying guest. Nothing was too much trouble. Local knowledge regarding directions, restaurants & tips on where to visit were greatly appreciated. We travel extensively, normally staying in 5 star generic hotels such as Mandarin Orientals etc, but can quite honestly say that Derwent house is in our top 3 of hotels to stay at & we would not hesitate in returning or recommending .

Others have already mentioned all the pluses of this hotel, but in our view, they are:
1. Location, 1/2 way up Table Mountain in quiet, safe area, but in walking distance of restauants.
2. Rooms, beautifully appointed, great beds, eco friendly products, flat screen satalite TV & DVD player, robes.
3. Reliable wifi available throughout hotel including use of laptop if you don't have one.
4. Guest kitchen, with very reasonaly priced honesty bar, complimentary cakes, a huge variety of coffees & teas, port & sherry.
5. Very quick & reasonably priced laundry on site.
6. Breakfast - everything you could wish for.
7. Pizza delivery can be arranged if too tired to go out on arrival or after a long day, excellent, as well.
8. The staff - genuinely friendly, professional & a great team who obviously love their jobs.
9. Jo & Carol - what can I say, they could teach alot of hoteliers a thing or two about hospitality.

We spent 4 weeks in total in South Africa, Jo & Carol certainly offered an amazing intoduction. We celebrated my birthday on this trip & the rest of SA certainly had alot to live up to.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

If you're looking for the perfect location, beautiful accomodation, unrivalled service etc. you can stop searching...you've found it!! From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, with the attention to detail and great local knowledge of what to do during your stay your every need is very well catered for.

As a rule we very rarely make a habit of going back to the same place twice as we like to see new places but on this occasion we are more than happy to make an exception!! In fact I have never written a Tripadvisor review (far too lazy) but really felt it it neccessary on this occasion....

Jo, Carol and the team were just fantastic - we felt like we were visiting old friends!...thats how much they make you feel at home. ( I just wish my house was as plush as this!)

PS. Try and get the room with the Jacuzzi as we could think of nothing better than chilling out before hitting long street after a long day seeing the great sights that Cape Town has to offer....trust me theres plenty!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazWhicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in Derwent House in November and it was fantastic. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of many bars and restaurants and the staff could not be more helpful. They very kindly arranged transfers for us from the airport to Franschhoek before we even stayed at Derwent House and we really appreciated the fact that they knew our names and asked us what we were up to each day and whether there was anything they could do to help.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, although i agree with the previous reviewer, they are on the small side, the lounge and pool area are big enough that there is no need to spend much time in your room anyway. The honesty bar, free tea, coffee and cakes make for a very relaxing stay. The breakfasts are also amazing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at Derwent House for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week trip through South Africa, and it was by far the best accomodation of our trip. Having already read reviews on Tripadvisor which lead us to booking this hotel, I was really pleasantly surprised to find that it was all that the other reviews stated as fantastic....and more.

The thing that really makes this hotel is the service, the staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be any trouble - they assisted us with booking a horse-back wine tour in Fraschoek, booked a table at an amazing hotel restaurant overlooking the sunset in Bantry Bay that we would never have found otherwise, as well as general tips on where to go, and best of all encouraging us to hire an AC Cobra for the day to cruise down the the Cape of Good Hope which we still havent quite got over yet! The small touches, for example free use of internet, complementary tea, coffee and cake, and leaving a chocolate and weather forcast for next day on your pillow at night just added to the personal and quality of service.

The hotel itself is modern and chic, yet it had a friendly and cosy feel which you sometimes don't get in boutique hotels. The breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruits, cereals, breads, cheese, and cooked breakfast choices. Our room was on the first floor, one of the lower priced rooms, but still had comfy double bed, modern clean bathroom with great power-shower and a view over the pool and table mountain.....what more could you want?!

The location is great - really central for getting to all the main sights in Cape Town. We had a hire care which I would recommend for Cape Town - we took a cab a few times down to the waterfront and out for meals so we could have a drink but there are plenty of restaurants right close to the hotel within walking distance. We found walking around the area felt safe - even the night of the world cup draw when there were thousands of people out on the streets there was an air of excitement and celebration and we saw absolutely no sign of any trouble.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family visiting Cape Town - it is friendly, central, immaculately clean and has to be the friendliest hotel Ive ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach-n-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2.7 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,880 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
1.6 km away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
0.7 km away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €128 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing