We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2008

It is just wonderful. Jo and Carol and their staff do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and fun. The rooms are all different and the breakfast is excellent. All the staff will help you plan your side trips and are very knowledge about the area. It is centrally located for the cable car, waterfront, downtown and very near some really cool restaurants.

One of the best places we have stayed in the world for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,188 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

Ab Fab! Treat yourself - Derwent House is a wonderful find in a very convenient part of Cape Town. The hospitality, comfort, food, service, situation, price, friendliness and information/assistance available, all rate as exceptional. Carol (and Jo and the rest of the staff) go out of their way to make this a home from home and it all comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Purchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My wife and I stayed twice at the Derwent house during our month-long trip to South Africa in June and July 2008. We recommend it highly.

Viewed simply as accommodation, it’s excellent. For complicated reasons we wound up staying in four different rooms (they have about ten). All were well furnished in a contemporary style; we’d have been happy to have our bedroom at home done as nicely. The rooms varied from a small double to a large suite with a separate living room and deck. (Our favorite was number four.) One had only a bathtub; the others, showers or shower-baths. The bathrooms were elegant and functional. All the rooms had individual heating (and we assume air-conditioning, but it was winter and we never thought to check).

The public areas are wonderful – two large lounges, one with a fire burning in the evening, plus an area off the breakfast room where you can get free coffee, tea, soft drinks, cookies and the like, port, and sherry at any time. There’s also an honor bar if you want liquors. The B&B is staffed 24 hours a day so there’s always someone around if you have questions or problems. They have a laptop in the lounge, with internet access. (I don’t know if they have wi-fi throughout the building, but I suspect they do since the laptop had only a power cord.)

Rooms are on two floors, and there are a number of short stairs (down to the lounge and pool, etc.). There’s no elevator, but the staff will lug your bags (indispensable for us since I have a bad back and we had heavy suitcases for a month of travel).

Breakfast was generous. They bring you coffee (the usual press-pot kind), tea, or chocolate, and you graze at will among delicious croissants, muffins, breads, several cheeses, ham, sausage, and a broad selection of exceptionally good jams and marmalade. Then there are the fruits, cereals, and yogurt – and, finally, fresh-cooked eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, mushrooms, and tomato. (They are particularly good at poaching eggs, which came cooked just as we like and neither wet nor vinegary.) With this to start the day we rarely ate more than dinner afterwards.

The staff are friendly and know their business well. (Jo and Carol have the staff stay in the rooms once a year, and the owners wait on them; the result is that they all know what it’s like to be a guest and the kind of thing that will make for a more pleasant stay.)

The location is on a residential street on a hill a block down from an uninteresting commercial street and two blocks above Kloof Street with restaurants and shops. You can eat several different kinds of good food within a few blocks. Walking down the hill, in five minutes you’re at the best espresso in Cape Town (two fine spots across the street, one the “Seattle Coffee Company”). About five minutes later the street becomes really funky and interesting, or you can turn right and be at the gardens (and one of the red tourist bus stops, a must for any first-time visitor). Probably there are other locations in the city we would have liked as well, but for our purposes it was ideal – quiet at night and a nice walk to all sorts of interesting places.

All this makes Derwent House an excellent place to stay. What made it really exceptional, and greatly enriched our trip, were the owners Jo and Carol, and the other guests. The owners have a broad knowledge of the city, and were happy to make a variety of recommendations of things to do and places to go. They can find an excellent driver if you want a personal day tour (we didn’t, but my brother- and sister-in-law did this for a day), recommend and book other tours, give advice on everything from tipping to other cities, and help resolve problems, as when the security on our credit card refused our car rental charge. Their helpfulness and knowledge of the city are remarkable, and thanks to them we had the best dinner of a month of fine dinners in South Africa (at Il Leone, if you’re curious). Their advice greatly enriched our stay.

Finally, the other guests were also charming and helpful. If you like B&Bs for the opportunity to chat and exchange advice with other travelers, Derwent House fits the bill. We found a range from a honeymooning British couple through (by complete chance) the best friend of my cousin from Cincinnatti to Katherine and Arthur, the owners of the best B&B in Franschhoek (The Akedemie Street Guesthouse).

All in all, we spent a lot of time on the Internet before selecting Derwent House for our stay. It didn’t just meet our expectations, it exceeded them.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Elderly_Curmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We chose Derwent House for a stay in Cape Town whilst trying to work out the answer to a job offer in the city. We didn't have much time and we had a million things to find out - all very speedy and stressful. Anyway - we couldn't recommend DH more highly - you are greeted personally at the door with warmth and charm - the owners are very present and incredibly friendly and their staff are the same, so you feel like you've entered a real haven (which was a godsend for us). Our room was stylish, comfortable, a great size and we could see both table mountain and lion's head from one of our two balconies. Everything is designed to make you feel at home - you can make yourself tea, pour yourself a drink, help yourself to cake...come and go and settle in and we have never stayed in a hotel that was so graciously accommodating of our travel plans which meant we had both an early check in and late check out. Plus - it's a great location, easy walking distance from town. Hard to recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DijonMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We selected this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews - the reviews were spot on. Our room was in the main part of the house, with a great view of Table Mountain. Spacious and comfortable room, with crisp white cotton bedlinen, efficient airconditioning/heating and a very smart bathroom. The common living areas are super comfortable, with a roaring fire going all day and a very well stocked kitchen and honesty bar.

What really makes this hotel is the attention of the staff - always welcoming and firendly, with the owners, Carol and Jo, showing great interest in your plans for the day and what you enjoyed most etc. Carol spent some time planning an excursion to Franschoek for us, including booking a restaurant for lunch. It was one of our best days out in Capetown, despite hammering rain that day ! Jo was great with local advice and provided great amusement at breakfast time with general chit chat.

There are several very good restaurants within easy walk of the hotel - we walked around at night in the area and felt totally safe. Specially recommend Gainsbourg, Zucca and Saigon. (we were there 5 nights). They have a DVD library and we made use of that a few times when we were too tired to go out and do any more exploring.

For those who are very, very light sleepers, request a room in the back wing. The four rooms in the main section are occasionally prone to a little noise from the dining area and front door, from late arrivals or early departures. But I am a very light sleeper and I know other guests in the room beside us heard nothing !

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2.7 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
1.6 km away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
0.7 km away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €128 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing