We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2008

The Derwent House is perfectly situated for a holiday in Cape Town. From the first time you make contact with the owners, Carol and Jo - you feel that you are in the best hands. All the staff working at the house is so friendly, joyful and helpful. The house it self, is modern and stylish - both outside and inside. We also loved the concept with " take what you want from the kitchen, just write it to your room" - makes you feel a little bit like home..

We have been in many countries around the world, and this is absolutely the best hotel, in all ways, we have ever stayed in. Aschjem`s-Norway

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tronvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,242 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2008

Found this website when looking for accommodation for a few days between the end of a business meeting and the start of our holiday in Johanessburg.
What a paradise it turned out to be! The house itself has been completely redesigned and refurbished and is gorgeous, but entirely practical. The location is breathtaking, nestled beneath Table Mountain, only a few minutes drive from the cable car. It is also within easy walk of Kloof street with its many restaurants, bars and clubs. The area seemed to us to be entirely safe when walking, and far better value than the V&A waterfront. The atmosphere in this "Garden Area" of Cape Town is more intimate and friendly...and the food and wine are wonderful!
The hotel boasts en-suite facilities in all the rooms; we stayed in Room number 4, facing Table Mountain. There is a pool for those not wishing (or able) to venture out, and TV and WiFi in all the rooms completes the experience. Do try the wonderful cooked breakfast...the best we had in all our travels. There is also a well-equipped honesty bar.
On top of this, the owner Carol couldn't have been more helpful in recommending activities and restaurants to try (book for a street table at Gainsbourg, 64 Kloof Street), and to offer a safe place for our rental car each night.
Five star service and luxury at a price you'll be happy to pay!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank cubchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We stayed at the Derwent House for a 5 day short break and from being greeted at the door to leaving for home it was a fantastic experience. The hotel is bright, clean and airy, with the atmosphere of being a home from home. We were met at reception by a lovely, polite young lady and shown straight to our room, which on first impression, with the cleanliness and decor (not to mention the view), made you feel relaxed straight away.Our room was onlooking an average size pool with plenty of space to relax and chill, with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. To the right was a lovely area for eating breakfast al fresco, leading on to a cosy breakfast room. There was anything you would like to eat from cereals to full breakfasts (which were cooked fresh to order, none of this stewing on hotplates for half an hour). Virginia is an excellent cook with a smile from ear to ear. Nonulthando and the rest of the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
Just to the rear of the room there is an area with free coffee, tea and cakes. There is also an honesty bar with a great selection of wines and beers, which would not shame any local pub. Complimentary port and cherry were also at hand anytime you felt like it.
When we met Carol and Jo for the first time their friendliness and ability to make you feel at home was very refreshing. One word of warning for football fans, Carol is from Manchester and Jo is from Sunderland and they both like their football, (not a great mix for a diehard Newcastle fan). They are both lovely girls and worked tirelessly to help us fit in the must see interests of the area. Weeks before we arrived they also booked our tickets to pick up for Robben Island on our arrival, which is a necessity due to waiting lists for this very popular attraction.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will not hesitate to go back there.
Thank you Carol and Jo, you helped make our trip an experience of a lifetime,
Gillian and Colin

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colgill1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

I haven't seen a bad review of Derwent House - neither on Trip Advisor nor elsewhere. Now I know why. We stayed here for a four night break at the end of February and loved the place. Everything that has been written is true, not least all the compliments payed to the co owners, Carol and Jo, who manage the whole operation with a light touch and a big smile for guests and employees alike. It is very much a first names only place and the evident happiness of the hotel team rubs off on everybody else to make for a real houseparty atmosphere.

There's little point in reiterating everything that has already been said a hundred times - other than to endorse them to the hilt - so here are just a couple of examples of the sort of place we're dealing with here: Where else does the hotel owner 'down- tools' to drive guests downtown when a taxi fails to turn up? Where have you ever stayed at a hotel that allows you to keep your room (unbooked the following day) throughout your final day so that your four day holiday feels like 5 days? When has a Hotel Manager ever said to you "Oh if there's no-one there don't bother checking out, we'll just charge your card" ? Finally, which hotel ever contacted you immediately upon your return to offer a refund for an inadvertent overcharge? All these things happened to us when we stayed at this lovely place and are typical of the sort of low key but brilliant service we received.

We have recommended Derwent House to all our travelling friends and now, via Trip Advisor, many others. It feels like we discovered a special place. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

A wonderfully comfortable and stylish hotel, fantastic views and facilities, extremely friendly staff and, importantly for us, an ethical staffing policy. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rhian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2.7 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
1.6 km away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
0.7 km away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €126 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing