We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
1,431
90
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,431
90
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar kloof street table mountain pool and hot tub our honeymoon little touches honor bar mobile phone millers thumb home away from home south africa booking restaurants camps bay communal areas stay in cape town every evening restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
1,325 - 1,330 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Found this website when looking for accommodation for a few days between the end of a business meeting and the start of our holiday in Johanessburg.
What a paradise it turned out to be! The house itself has been completely redesigned and refurbished and is gorgeous, but entirely practical. The location is breathtaking, nestled beneath Table Mountain, only a few minutes drive from the cable car. It is also within easy walk of Kloof street with its many restaurants, bars and clubs. The area seemed to us to be entirely safe when walking, and far better value than the V&A waterfront. The atmosphere in this "Garden Area" of Cape Town is more intimate and friendly...and the food and wine are wonderful!
The hotel boasts en-suite facilities in all the rooms; we stayed in Room number 4, facing Table Mountain. There is a pool for those not wishing (or able) to venture out, and TV and WiFi in all the rooms completes the experience. Do try the wonderful cooked breakfast...the best we had in all our travels. There is also a well-equipped honesty bar.
On top of this, the owner Carol couldn't have been more helpful in recommending activities and restaurants to try (book for a street table at Gainsbourg, 64 Kloof Street), and to offer a safe place for our rental car each night.
Five star service and luxury at a price you'll be happy to pay!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank cubchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We stayed at the Derwent House for a 5 day short break and from being greeted at the door to leaving for home it was a fantastic experience. The hotel is bright, clean and airy, with the atmosphere of being a home from home. We were met at reception by a lovely, polite young lady and shown straight to our room, which on first impression, with the cleanliness and decor (not to mention the view), made you feel relaxed straight away.Our room was onlooking an average size pool with plenty of space to relax and chill, with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. To the right was a lovely area for eating breakfast al fresco, leading on to a cosy breakfast room. There was anything you would like to eat from cereals to full breakfasts (which were cooked fresh to order, none of this stewing on hotplates for half an hour). Virginia is an excellent cook with a smile from ear to ear. Nonulthando and the rest of the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
Just to the rear of the room there is an area with free coffee, tea and cakes. There is also an honesty bar with a great selection of wines and beers, which would not shame any local pub. Complimentary port and cherry were also at hand anytime you felt like it.
When we met Carol and Jo for the first time their friendliness and ability to make you feel at home was very refreshing. One word of warning for football fans, Carol is from Manchester and Jo is from Sunderland and they both like their football, (not a great mix for a diehard Newcastle fan). They are both lovely girls and worked tirelessly to help us fit in the must see interests of the area. Weeks before we arrived they also booked our tickets to pick up for Robben Island on our arrival, which is a necessity due to waiting lists for this very popular attraction.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will not hesitate to go back there.
Thank you Carol and Jo, you helped make our trip an experience of a lifetime,
Gillian and Colin

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colgill1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

I haven't seen a bad review of Derwent House - neither on Trip Advisor nor elsewhere. Now I know why. We stayed here for a four night break at the end of February and loved the place. Everything that has been written is true, not least all the compliments payed to the co owners, Carol and Jo, who manage the whole operation with a light touch and a big smile for guests and employees alike. It is very much a first names only place and the evident happiness of the hotel team rubs off on everybody else to make for a real houseparty atmosphere.

There's little point in reiterating everything that has already been said a hundred times - other than to endorse them to the hilt - so here are just a couple of examples of the sort of place we're dealing with here: Where else does the hotel owner 'down- tools' to drive guests downtown when a taxi fails to turn up? Where have you ever stayed at a hotel that allows you to keep your room (unbooked the following day) throughout your final day so that your four day holiday feels like 5 days? When has a Hotel Manager ever said to you "Oh if there's no-one there don't bother checking out, we'll just charge your card" ? Finally, which hotel ever contacted you immediately upon your return to offer a refund for an inadvertent overcharge? All these things happened to us when we stayed at this lovely place and are typical of the sort of low key but brilliant service we received.

We have recommended Derwent House to all our travelling friends and now, via Trip Advisor, many others. It feels like we discovered a special place. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

A wonderfully comfortable and stylish hotel, fantastic views and facilities, extremely friendly staff and, importantly for us, an ethical staffing policy. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rhian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We have just returned from a vacation in South Africa, where we spent three nights in Cape Town at Derwent House. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible well balanced service before - never too much -nevr too little - just right. Carol and Jo together with their staff were all very kind, they were all very engaged in making our stay an excellent experience and they suceed. They gave us superb service and many good recomendations for places to go and things to do.They served a delicious breakfast with fresh and well tasting food. The Hotel is small, very elegant and tastefully decorated - everywhere you look there is just this touch of tastefull elegance - including many fresh flower decorations - all in all it gives you the feeling of staying in a home of people with a very good and distinguished taste - elegant but with a relaxing atmosphere.
We can warmly reccomend this very nice place to all who want something unique and we will definitely be back next time we come to Cape Town.
Kind Regards
Peder, Mathias, Rasmus and Rie, Copenhagen, Denmark

Stayed: February 2008
Thank RNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews