We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Cape Town and Derwent House. It's hard to say something that hasn't been said a hundred times before but perhaps the fact that we chose to stay at Derwent for 3 weeks, says it all!! Carol, Jo and their wonderful team could not do anymore to make our holiday perfect. Great breakfasts, tea and coffee available all day, homemade cake in the afternoons, beautiful house with great rooms, amazing views, wonderful staff, lovely pool area, expert recommendations, relaxed atmosphere, a well stocked honesty bar and restaurants to suit all tastes within walking distance. Cape Town is a beautiful city and Derwent House a great place to stay. It really is a home away from home. We would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Jo, Carol and all the team at Derwent House for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 676 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at The Derwent Hotel in January. It was our first visit to SA and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Cape Town. Jo and Carol are brilliant hosts and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely, and its great to have a dip in the pool and hot tub after a days sight seeing. We loved the breakfasts and afternoon cakes and will definately stay there again when we return to SA. We simply loved The Derwent!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_Lynn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, staying here was a joy. All the staff made us supremely welcome and Jo, Carol and Bernie have such a great knowledge of all the best restaurants and places to go, it made our stay fantastic, and stress free. Our only issue was that we really should have stayed a lot longer. We loved it. Colin & Polly McLean

Room Tip: Just ask Carol, Jo or Bernie, all the rooms are great but there will be room more appropriate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Derwent House in November 2011 for part of our belated honeymoon. We arrived late at night off a long flight to a very warm welcome from Carol.

The guesthouse itself is beautifully decorated with attention to every little detail whilst keeping an inviting home from home feel. The breakfasts are amazing with a tasty menu and tons of choice. The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The location is good for sight seeing (you can see table mountain from your bedroom!) and there are plenty of restaurants close by.

The honesty bar is a real plus. It is lovely to come back from a day out to a drink and a piece of cake. There are DVDs for you to borrow if you want a quiet evening and they will even order you a takeaway.

Carol and Jo are brilliant hosts who have created a fantastic place to stay in a beautiful part of the world. They are full of suggestions and tips of where to visit and places to eat. You are made to feel very welcome. We had an amazing time in South Africa and staying at Derwent House was a real highlight. We can't recommed it highly enough. All we have talked about since we got home is how soon we can go again and we will definately be staying at Derwent House!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was our third time at Derwent house and all I can say it just gets better. Carol, Jo and Bernie are just superb hosts and the rest of the team are fantastic. Rooms are wonderfully comfortable and the pool area with hot tub is spot on.

We spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon at a concert at Kirstenbosch and Carol provided collapsible chairs and a picnic basket with plates, glasses and cutlery all we had to do was provide the food.

For that extra special place to stay in Cape Town look no further than Derwent House. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Room 4 has plenty of space, bath and shower plus that view of Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town
2.7 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town
1,871 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,800 reviews
3.0 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
0.7 km away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town
1,013 reviews
2.8 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: €124 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing