We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Cape Town and Derwent House. It's hard to say something that hasn't been said a hundred times before but perhaps the fact that we chose to stay at Derwent for 3 weeks, says it all!! Carol, Jo and their wonderful team could not do anymore to make our holiday perfect. Great breakfasts, tea and coffee available all day, homemade cake in the afternoons, beautiful house with great rooms, amazing views, wonderful staff, lovely pool area, expert recommendations, relaxed atmosphere, a well stocked honesty bar and restaurants to suit all tastes within walking distance. Cape Town is a beautiful city and Derwent House a great place to stay. It really is a home away from home. We would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Jo, Carol and all the team at Derwent House for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
858
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at The Derwent Hotel in January. It was our first visit to SA and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Cape Town. Jo and Carol are brilliant hosts and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely, and its great to have a dip in the pool and hot tub after a days sight seeing. We loved the breakfasts and afternoon cakes and will definately stay there again when we return to SA. We simply loved The Derwent!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Lynn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, staying here was a joy. All the staff made us supremely welcome and Jo, Carol and Bernie have such a great knowledge of all the best restaurants and places to go, it made our stay fantastic, and stress free. Our only issue was that we really should have stayed a lot longer. We loved it. Colin & Polly McLean

Room Tip: Just ask Carol, Jo or Bernie, all the rooms are great but there will be room more appropriate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Derwent House in November 2011 for part of our belated honeymoon. We arrived late at night off a long flight to a very warm welcome from Carol.

The guesthouse itself is beautifully decorated with attention to every little detail whilst keeping an inviting home from home feel. The breakfasts are amazing with a tasty menu and tons of choice. The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The location is good for sight seeing (you can see table mountain from your bedroom!) and there are plenty of restaurants close by.

The honesty bar is a real plus. It is lovely to come back from a day out to a drink and a piece of cake. There are DVDs for you to borrow if you want a quiet evening and they will even order you a takeaway.

Carol and Jo are brilliant hosts who have created a fantastic place to stay in a beautiful part of the world. They are full of suggestions and tips of where to visit and places to eat. You are made to feel very welcome. We had an amazing time in South Africa and staying at Derwent House was a real highlight. We can't recommed it highly enough. All we have talked about since we got home is how soon we can go again and we will definately be staying at Derwent House!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was our third time at Derwent house and all I can say it just gets better. Carol, Jo and Bernie are just superb hosts and the rest of the team are fantastic. Rooms are wonderfully comfortable and the pool area with hot tub is spot on.

We spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon at a concert at Kirstenbosch and Carol provided collapsible chairs and a picnic basket with plates, glasses and cutlery all we had to do was provide the food.

For that extra special place to stay in Cape Town look no further than Derwent House. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Room 4 has plenty of space, bath and shower plus that view of Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing