We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If ever there was an example of design over function this is it. Worth a visit though.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If ever there was an example of design over function this is it. Worth a visit though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here whilst working in cape town, which does mean you are always expecting slightly different things from a hotel. The basic rooms are very 'trendy' if a little compact. Basin in the room and shower too.

Nicely styled rooms with very dark corridors but the do no disturb lights are something I've always thought should exist in hotels!

The pool is very cosy but nice just for a dip and still a plus for a city centre hotel.

I would say the one big down side is the terribly slow service in the restaurant. On two or three occasions we were a table
Of only a Couple of tables but the service was painfully slow and slightly clumsy. Food was well presented and good but thy must sort out their waiting staff and the speed at which food is prepared. One lunch on our last day seemed to take forever to arrive, even after enquiring on several occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyboyb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points, we are glad that you made use of our swimming pool too!

Thank you very much for your constructive comments. Please be assured that we will address them with the relevant STAFF members in detail.

We hope be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    355
    162
    90
    66
See reviews for
97
351
80
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Location is very central, close to places. But the rooms are very tiny, especially for a double occupancy. There is hardly any room to walk around. Considering the price I am paying, this is less value for money. The internet is limited to 150 MB per day, which gets used up quickly for people who are on business like me..The hotel staff is very friendly and otherwise make up for the not so good points.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JupiterNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We rely on GUEST's feedback to deterimine both the negative and positve aspects of our Hotel. Thank you for your commendations about the friendly and efficient service you received, please be assured I will congratulate the TEAM for doing such a great job.

If there is anything we can assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate in contacting me personally. We hope to be welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights. Very clean rooms and excellent location in Downtown, near bars/pubs/restaurants etc Good service and clean rooms.
Pool is very small, but gym is descent.
They advertise free high speed internet, but you only get 150 Mg free per day..if you go over the limit you need to pay extra.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmo_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points with regards to our central location and our in-house gym facility.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel is tucked away in Cape Town City Centre (Gardens area) so no great views of the sea or beach, but it is possible to have a mountain view. Great base for a good night's sleep and ease of getting out and about to see all the sights Cape Town and surrounds have to offer. Whilst the hotel has a pool, it is not an area I would use to hang out at for too long - loungers are all 'indoors' and view not very appealing! We found all staff to be highly efficient, well spoken and unbelievably helpful - there was no queuing at reception, always enough staff on hand to assist - even the Manager's office has a huge sign on the window "Please do disburg" - what a pleasant change. Reception/lounge/bar area all very funky and the restaurant very pleasant too. The milkshakes are very 'moreish' and highly recommended. Perhaps the Friday night music may be a litle too loud for some of us of the older generation! Parking for a small fee is also available.

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for the Deluxe Room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McAdamSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear GUEST,

Thank you very much for the awesome review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your commendations on the impressive service offered. I will definitely congratulate the STAFF for doing such a great job.

We are glad you enjoyed the milkshakes too!

We hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Decor is weird except for public toilets which is interesting. Bad design or planning, not child friendly, poor finishing or workmanship. Poor service. Food quality inconsistent.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

Please be assured that your comments wirth regard to the service and restaurant issues have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Yours Sincerely,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 km away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.3 km away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Address: New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. This ultra-chic hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and is a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature milkshakes and cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing