We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$209
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$197
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Upperbloem(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$142
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
83
104
69
34
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
104
69
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetnight lifesecure garagetable mountainnoisy at nighta lot of noiselight sleeperearly hourscorner roomroom was spotlessloved this hotelbottled waterspecial thanksrestaurants and barsrooms are beautifulbreakfast roomclose proximity
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Landed in Cape Town for the first time. Selected this hotel for its location so we would not have to drive for a few days. The hotel turned out to be the perfect location for us, we walked to sites and took the double decker bus to orientate ourselves. The hotel was very clean, loved the bathtub in the room... the staff helped us book online tickets to attractions, they were very professional and friendly. Good food, great little hotel bar. Lots to do on Long Street: across the street is one of the best restaurant and entertainment in Cape Town: MAMA AFRICA. A few minutes walk, another unique restaurant offering delicious Cape Malay food: MASALA DOSA and also close by a great bar Cape To Cuba.
Our only regret: after traveling for 3 weeks in SA, we came back to CT and had booked another hotel in the city bowl and it was horrible, we should have gone back to Urban Chic Hotel. We will be back in 2011 !

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleilFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Urban Chic is centrally located, right on Long Street and a great location for visiting the sites in the city and also traveling out of the city by car. The downside of the location is that Long Street is really noisy and for our first 2 nights there-Saturday and Sunday, it was nearly impossible to get 8 hours sleep. We arrived Saturday night after a 22 hour flight and found ourselves in party central. Long Street partied until around 5am on Sunday morning. It was quieter during the week, so really a function of location.

On the plus side, Tina at reception was one of the most accomplished and helpful concierge/advisors I have come across in all my travels. She made reservations for us in both Cape Town and in wine country. She was extremely knowledgable of Cape Town and all of the tourist locations.

The rest of the team at Urban Chic was also very helpful and we really enjoyed our overall visit.

One thing to note for non-smokers visiting SA-South Africa still allows smoking in public places and Urban Chic has a bar beside reception that is a cigar bar. It usually was filled with cigar smokers after work but got better after 9pm.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siranne, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel!

We noted that you scored us 5/5 for value, cleanliness and service and 4/5 for location and rooms!

Our staff pride themselves on having the ability to make our guests' stay a memorable one, and this is obviously true of your experience with Tina and the rest of our staff.

We would like to address the noise factor by saying that we pride ourselves on our location being in the most vibey and party orientated street in Cape Town, but also due to the fact that being where we are means that our guests have everything they might need right on their doorstep.

We are in walking distance from countless restaurants, bars and clubs and while 90% of our guests enjoy the vibe of Long street, there are those who are light sleepers and the opposite would be true for them.

As you mentioned, during the week Long street is much quieter.

Having said that, we are happy to announce that as from 01 January 2011, bars, nightclubs and restaurants in Cape Town, will not be allowed to serve liquor after 2am, which should go a long way to reducing the party-goers after that time and in turn the noise factor.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Urban Chic Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town!

Have a very happy Christmas and New Year!

Warm regards,

Siranne Ungerer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Great location for bars and restaurants - the main concentration of activity of Long Street is on the doorstep. We were in room 302 which is quite close to the street so it was quite noisy; it depends whether you want all the aforementioned action close by.

Ok breakfast, service pretty good, parking in a secure car park. Nice view of table mountain out of the corner rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny_watsonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2010

Thank you for your informative review, we pleased that you enjoyed the locality of the hotel; we take pride in our convenient location. With Long Street on your doorstep you won’t be short of suggestions for Cape Town’s best local restaurants and bars, a great way to interact with the locals. Room 302 is situated on the lower floor’s which is closer to the street, we do however try to upgrade our guests to the highest possible floor whenever available, but as you stated above can be overruled if you want all the action close by.

Glad you enjoyed the view of one of Cape Town’s famous landmark!

We would love to accommodate you when you next plan to visit Cape Town again.

Sincerely,
Taryn-Leigh Niedermayer
Reservations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Having just spent a fantastic 9 days in Cape Town, staying at the Urban Chic was a real find. A great room on the top floor with wonderful views of Table Mountain (even from the bath) coupled with a hearty breakfast and a relentless attention of the staff to keeping the rooms clean, replenished and tidy makes you welcome and well looked after.
To top it off Tina on reception couldn't do enough from the warm welcome every time we saw her to advice on trips, organising car hire, booking trips.
Heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2010

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are pleased to know that we had some involvement with making your stay in Cape Town the most memorable one. It sounds like you had the opportunity of staying in one of our Superior suites with the open-planned bedroom and bathroom which is divided with a Zen sliding screen door. Most of our guests who have stayed in this room have shared the same comments about the room and it’s especially popular with honeymooners.

Thank you for such a lovely compliment about the Tina and the Front Office staff and all our housekeepers, our staff are always willing to go the extra mile for guests from planning tours, confirming airline tickets, booking sport or theatre tickets, our service is one of our best attributes and it was confirmed when we were announced finalists this year with the AA Hospitality awards 2010 which was scored and measured from guest comment cards and reviews like yours.

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends and we hope to have the opportunity to provide them with the same hospitality!

Best regards,
Taryn-Leigh Niedermayer
Reservations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Had the pleasure of staying at the Urban Chic Hotel in Long Street with my husband and children. The staff were amazing and very helpful. They could suggest wonderful restaurants and family friendly activities, my kids enjoyed the Aquarium and the Red Topless bus immensely. We requested a family room on a higher floor and we had no problems with the noise, the location in Long Street was ideal to see the city with my children. Transport was freely accessible. Would definitely recommend this unique hotel to my friends planning to visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siranne, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

We are so happy that you and your children enjoyed your stay so much!

Our staff pride themselves on having the ability to make our guests stay a memorable one, and this is obviously true of your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Urban Chic Boutique Hotel when you return to South Africa

Warm regards,

Siranne Ungerer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews