We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location, with simple modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Ranked #90 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Urban Chic is well located on long street which is very convenient for getting around cape town, but noisy at weekends. It's a small four star hotel which, based on my experience, is "just" four star - it's not particularly luxurious, but rooms are modern and spotless and quite comfortable. However, the service at this hotel is extraordinary and way above and beyond what I typically expect. Staff are friendly and flexible, and this is ample compensation for fewer satellite tv channels. It is also an excellent value. I recommend this hotel for any single or younger couple travellers wanting a good value with convenient location in a less-touristy area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safe_uk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 225 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2010

Landed in Cape Town for the first time. Selected this hotel for its location so we would not have to drive for a few days. The hotel turned out to be the perfect location for us, we walked to sites and took the double decker bus to orientate ourselves. The hotel was very clean, loved the bathtub in the room... the staff helped us book online tickets to attractions, they were very professional and friendly. Good food, great little hotel bar. Lots to do on Long Street: across the street is one of the best restaurant and entertainment in Cape Town: MAMA AFRICA. A few minutes walk, another unique restaurant offering delicious Cape Malay food: MASALA DOSA and also close by a great bar Cape To Cuba.
Our only regret: after traveling for 3 weeks in SA, we came back to CT and had booked another hotel in the city bowl and it was horrible, we should have gone back to Urban Chic Hotel. We will be back in 2011 !

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleilFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Urban Chic is centrally located, right on Long Street and a great location for visiting the sites in the city and also traveling out of the city by car. The downside of the location is that Long Street is really noisy and for our first 2 nights there-Saturday and Sunday, it was nearly impossible to get 8 hours sleep. We arrived Saturday night after a 22 hour flight and found ourselves in party central. Long Street partied until around 5am on Sunday morning. It was quieter during the week, so really a function of location.

On the plus side, Tina at reception was one of the most accomplished and helpful concierge/advisors I have come across in all my travels. She made reservations for us in both Cape Town and in wine country. She was extremely knowledgable of Cape Town and all of the tourist locations.

The rest of the team at Urban Chic was also very helpful and we really enjoyed our overall visit.

One thing to note for non-smokers visiting SA-South Africa still allows smoking in public places and Urban Chic has a bar beside reception that is a cigar bar. It usually was filled with cigar smokers after work but got better after 9pm.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siranne, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel!

We noted that you scored us 5/5 for value, cleanliness and service and 4/5 for location and rooms!

Our staff pride themselves on having the ability to make our guests' stay a memorable one, and this is obviously true of your experience with Tina and the rest of our staff.

We would like to address the noise factor by saying that we pride ourselves on our location being in the most vibey and party orientated street in Cape Town, but also due to the fact that being where we are means that our guests have everything they might need right on their doorstep.

We are in walking distance from countless restaurants, bars and clubs and while 90% of our guests enjoy the vibe of Long street, there are those who are light sleepers and the opposite would be true for them.

As you mentioned, during the week Long street is much quieter.

Having said that, we are happy to announce that as from 01 January 2011, bars, nightclubs and restaurants in Cape Town, will not be allowed to serve liquor after 2am, which should go a long way to reducing the party-goers after that time and in turn the noise factor.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Urban Chic Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town!

Have a very happy Christmas and New Year!

Warm regards,

Siranne Ungerer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Great location for bars and restaurants - the main concentration of activity of Long Street is on the doorstep. We were in room 302 which is quite close to the street so it was quite noisy; it depends whether you want all the aforementioned action close by.

Ok breakfast, service pretty good, parking in a secure car park. Nice view of table mountain out of the corner rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny_watsonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2010

Thank you for your informative review, we pleased that you enjoyed the locality of the hotel; we take pride in our convenient location. With Long Street on your doorstep you won’t be short of suggestions for Cape Town’s best local restaurants and bars, a great way to interact with the locals. Room 302 is situated on the lower floor’s which is closer to the street, we do however try to upgrade our guests to the highest possible floor whenever available, but as you stated above can be overruled if you want all the action close by.

Glad you enjoyed the view of one of Cape Town’s famous landmark!

We would love to accommodate you when you next plan to visit Cape Town again.

Sincerely,
Taryn-Leigh Niedermayer
Reservations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Having just spent a fantastic 9 days in Cape Town, staying at the Urban Chic was a real find. A great room on the top floor with wonderful views of Table Mountain (even from the bath) coupled with a hearty breakfast and a relentless attention of the staff to keeping the rooms clean, replenished and tidy makes you welcome and well looked after.
To top it off Tina on reception couldn't do enough from the warm welcome every time we saw her to advice on trips, organising car hire, booking trips.
Heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2010

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are pleased to know that we had some involvement with making your stay in Cape Town the most memorable one. It sounds like you had the opportunity of staying in one of our Superior suites with the open-planned bedroom and bathroom which is divided with a Zen sliding screen door. Most of our guests who have stayed in this room have shared the same comments about the room and it’s especially popular with honeymooners.

Thank you for such a lovely compliment about the Tina and the Front Office staff and all our housekeepers, our staff are always willing to go the extra mile for guests from planning tours, confirming airline tickets, booking sport or theatre tickets, our service is one of our best attributes and it was confirmed when we were announced finalists this year with the AA Hospitality awards 2010 which was scored and measured from guest comment cards and reviews like yours.

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends and we hope to have the opportunity to provide them with the same hospitality!

Best regards,
Taryn-Leigh Niedermayer
Reservations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 km away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
0.4 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
0.5 km away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
0.5 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
1.1 km away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €80 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing