We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
199
173
53
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
173
53
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfat cactuskloof streetbreakfast vouchersgreat locationrestaurants downstairskitchenette areatable mountainlong streetsmall kitchenettechoice of restaurantsoff street parkingwithin walking distancesecure parkingrooms are moderngreat rooma great staycamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Rooms nice size and clean. Mini kitchen with microwave. First room i was given was at the front about Jerry Cafe and Bar which is very noisy at night. Asked for another room and was given a new room very quickly. Not a lot of choice with TV channels. I found the Wi-Fi to be a bit slow. Restaurants and cafes close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JanHindmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

On behalf of Hippo Boutique Hotel, I would like to humbly apologize for the experience with regards to the noise from the restaurants. We are looking at how to minimize the noise from the restaurants and appreciate your honest feedback. Our actions include double glazing for the windows and insulating the ceiling. We are doing a full signal check on the wi fi on Wednesday so we are hoping that the wireless will be sorted out.

We would like to assure you that we at Hippo Boutique Hotel pride ourselves in delivering the best guest service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer.

I confirm therefore that your concerns are being addressed in a serious light and that action is being taken to rectify any shortcomings in our service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!


Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This was a repeat visit since staying here in April 2016. This establishment is still a great stay, but we found it very noisy this time. also we noted that there are only 5 TV channels available. this is not a cheap stay, so we expected more. a small thing is that the bathroom had no pegs to hand towels etc.

Room Tip: try and get a suite. none was alailable for us.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rrustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, we will follow up each one with an action plan to improve our overall service to you our most valued guests.
We hope that you will re consider with regards to staying with us again.
We should welcome another opportunity to show you Hippo Boutique Hospitality at its best!
With best regards,
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This is a great place to stay in Cape Town. Really cool hotel - very clean, really great rooms that are well maintained, fab breakfast set up (they are affiliated to several cafes/ restaurants so you can choose where to eat breakfast), helpful staff, excellent value for money and perfect location off the hip and busy Kloof Street. We'll absolutely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loisjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016


Thank you for taking the most precious commodity, your time to write down your comments
The Hippo team greatly appreciates your positive response to your stay at our unique stunning hotel. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our proficient staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager
\

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The hotel's location is excellent - 20 steps from Kloof Street, close to the Wellness Mall and a 15 minute walk to the historic center, where you'll find the Sightseeing Bus office and its main stop, on Long Street. There are 2 bars downstairs, which can be an attractive option for groups of friends or anyone looking for the young urban nightlife. The hotel offers free parking, some of it indoor. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, neatly decorated and generally nice. Staff was very helpful with bookings for attractions and when we needed confirmation - at 3:30am - that our transport to the airport had not forgotten us.
However - two big however's - were:
1. The inconsistent removal of trash from the bathroom - some days it was removed, some not. For no obvious reason.
2. The noise from downstairs - Monday to Wednesday it was bearable and we were able to fall asleep, even if there was music and chatter from the bars. On Thursday, however, we could feel the beat of the music on the wooden floor and even understand the words spoken. We were particularly tired from the hike at Table Mountain, so waiting until 11pm for the music to die down seemed like forever.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay, ask for a room away from Park Road
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on guest feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. Your feedback has therefore been truly valuable to us.

We are aware of our noise levels and have already started with double glazing in the rooms and will continue for the rest of the year to completing the double glazing in the front rooms.

Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Boutique Hotel when next you visit Cape Town. We welcome another opportunity by offering you a back facing room or a suite so we can show you Hippo Boutique Hospitality at its best!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Just got back from a week long business/vacation trip in South Africa, where I stayed at the Hippo in Cape Town. On the positives, it was a great room, in a great location, the hotel was trendy without overly doing it. We had one of the large 2 story rooms and enjoyed having the extra space. We also had a fantastic view of Table Mountain which was great to wake up to everyday and see. One of the odd things about the room was the bathroom, where the shower was directly in the upstairs bedroom, which made it difficult for someone to take a shower while someone was still waking up and the little glass partition did little to stop the water from getting all over the floor. But this was a minor gripe and the rest of the room was great. Also be aware that there was only a limited number of tv channels, which we found odd, however we didn't fly for more then a day to sit in a room and watch TV, so this really didn't matter to us. The staff was helpful and were able to setup several great tours for us and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was great. For the price it was fantastic and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great room at a reasonable price in Cape Town Central.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews