We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
102
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
11
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Barbara and her team were so fantastic .
We did not arrive in Cape Town until after 6 pm but i had emailed Barabara the owner a couple of days before to let her estimate time of arrival.The house is so beautiful, large rooms , wooden floors .
We stayed in Room 6 all rooms are ensuit.
Breakfasts are amazing chooses include cereal, various cold meats, cheeses and fabulous choices of cooked breakfast from their menu range.
Anna looked after us whilst we stayed here, she helped with booking the cable car .Nothing was too much trouble .They provide a laundry service .Definitely a brilliant place to stop.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

You can't go wrong with a stay at Cactusberry Lodge. It is centrally located in Cape Town with easy access to buses and to highways for driving. Since it's central, taxi fare home from the waterfront wasn't even very expensive. There are nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Barbara will take the time to go over your daily plans and map out a route for you. The whole place is beautifully decorated with art. Our room was spacious and there are lovely sitting areas outside on a patio and inside. Breakfast was great -- the only problem with it was trying not to gain weight. Next to "hospitality" in the dictionary there should be a picture of Cactusberry!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2fromsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

When I had relatives visiting Cape Town, I trusted innkeeper Barbara to host them. She was ultra-responsive and accommodating by email, and her kindness continued in person. Barbara adjusted her schedule to be present for our arrivals and departures, often helped carry our extensive luggage, and let us leave our suitcases in-room while we traveled the Garden Route for the weekend. Loved the stylish, minimalist decor and the photos taken by Barbara's husband, Guido. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

After initially being a little bit sceptical of the very high ratings prior to my departure for Cactusberry, I can say with hand on heart that everything you read on TripAdvisor is warranted and worthy of the praise they receive.
We stayed at Cactusberry for four days prior to commencing a 2 week tour of the Garden Route, before returning for and additional couple of days prior to returning home.
The facilities were clean, fresh and quiet. The staff were more than accommodating of our needs, and even with changes to schedules, car hire, weather. Barbara was always willing to assist and not once did did it seem a bother.
If you after accommodation that is walking distance to the centre of the city, in a quite location and is couples and family friendly, Cactusberry should be high on your list for consideration.
Thank you Barbara and Guido (hope I spelt that right). Very enjoyable and stress free!
Regards
Ian

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Everything about staying here was exemplary. The owner, Barbara, and all her staff could not have been more helpful and informative, including booking our trip to Robben Island for us. The location is great, within walking distance of the centre, but very peaceful at night. Our room was superb as was eating wonderful breakfasts outside in the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews