We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and professionally run guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellevue Manor Guest House
Ranked #106 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Spent 4 nights In Bellevue Manor Guest House and was delighted.
Mostly because of the staff who was super...always friendly and helpful :-)
The house itself is very charismatic with it's many corridores.
They serve decent continenal breakfast...and with decent I only mean it's not enough for me :-)) Don't care so much of the South African breakfast...lots of sweet stuff that doesn't keep the hunger away.
Had a VERY little room, which didn't feel like a prison cell since there was light and somehow they had managed to squeeze in a fridge, safety box and a tv (flat screen).
And the pool was nice.
WIll definitely come back :-)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Georg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

For more than 5 years I have been travelling to Cape Town on vacation. Each time is as memorable as the previous and the experience at Bellevue Manor Guest House is a large part of that.

The staff are very helpful and always warm, even when the weather is not :) The facilities are nicely balanced between modern comfort and vintage design and feel. The location is also ideal for those do not know their way around the city and require quick access to basic services.

It is everything you like about being home, minus the chores :)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gags123, General Manager at Bellevue Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Boa tarda Mauro, grateful you took the time to write your unsolicited report. Trust all is good at home. Appreciate your kind words about Bellevue Manor. Spot on !! Hope to see you down in the Mother City again soon. Loved your energy your previous visit. Obrigado & cumprimentos
Gary DeCastro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

After 30 hrs getting to Cape Town, the Owner/Mgr who was supposed to pick us up at the airport never showed. When we got to the Inn, he made some excuse and said he was there but left thinking we had small children and he didn't want to deal with them. The Inn was freezing, no one was ever available to help us with any questions and their idea of a breakfast included instant coffee. There was no concern for the Inn or people staying there as we were the only ones. We went next door to the Sweet Orange Guest House for the most wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlynn451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Very happy with our stay here, Etienne was lovely and made sure we were comfortable - even letting us check in much earlier than 2pm which really helped us out on the day. Yes, you can hear the traffic from the highway close by and it's pretty much constant, but it just becomes white noise very quickly so don't let that deter you from reading some of the other reviews. The breakfast is more than enough with nice simple and fresh options.

Location is lovely and the 180 view sublime especially in the late afternoons as the sun sets over the vineyard. Loved the huge room too and the old bath :-)

The location is also great for Stellenbosch town, and two of the most popular weekend markets, both only a 5 minute drive from the guest house. We had also booked

A couple of suggestions for the owners that might make a nice touch:
- keep a bottle of wine on arrival in the room.
- another guesthouse we stayed in in Franschhoek on another visit emailed us on booking our room with a list of local recommended and famed restaurants like Reuben's, La Petit Ferme etc and offered to book tables for us in the restaurants of our choice. They said that as the area was famous for being a food and wine heaven booking ahead to ensure a table is advised. We found this a wonderful touch and were so grateful to have not missed out on eating in the places we wanted in the busy season. This might be a service Bellevue Manor could offer on top of promoting the spa on booking?
- keep some local info in the room in a mini-booklet or folder ie. suggested restaurants, local markets...the normal local info that helps visitors, especially the ones visiting for the first time.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nightporter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Large clean rooms in a truly beautiful yet convenient location. Excellent breakfast with super friendly staff /management. Only small issue is that my room (3) has no shower only a bath (but it does have a shower hose :)). Would definitely visit here again

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 km away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#132 of 201 in Cape Town
88 reviews
0.2 km away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#57 of 111 in Cape Town Central
174 reviews
0.4 km away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#44 of 111 in Cape Town Central
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#68 of 111 in Cape Town Central
493 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Nelson Guest House
Cape Nelson Guest House
#76 of 156 in Cape Town Central
56 reviews
0.1 km away
Sweet Orange Guest House
Sweet Orange Guest House
#52 of 156 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Manor Guest House

Address: 5 Bellevue Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established Accommodation Gem (***Graded) offering excellent value for money services across a broad spectrum: from the Meet & Greet at point of entry into our beautiful Mother City, to a friendly beer around the pool, our accommodation options are varied: family self-catering cottages, units & apartments, bed & breakfast - a favorite; lunches & dinners by arrangement, small - medium groups; car hire; tours & transfers in & around Cape Town, endless others. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellevue Manor Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing